Eggplant, Zucchini and Sweet Red Pepper Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
Substituted yellow squash fo the zucchini I don't like, the red wine I had on hand for the Marsala, dried basil and rosemary I couldn't get fresh that day and plain rice for Basmati rice and still got a wonderful dinner. We even enjoyed the leftovers the next day. This is an excellent, healthy vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe - the next day! It does requires a lot of chopping...but worth it. I used 1/2 basmati rice and 1/2 white rice.. I preferred the meal the following day... the flavors really gelled then... Next time I will make it in the a.m for a p.m. meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Didn't care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Not good at all. I followed the recipe exactly and substituted 1/2 cup vinegar for the wine as that is supposed to be the proper substitute. It turned out to be a mushy mass of veggies. We love our vegetables but this just didn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Not spicy enough for us, so I added 4 hot banana peppers with seeds in chunks. That helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe, as did my husband and 10 yr old daughter. We are vegetarians and are always looking for someting new. I love one pot meals. I even made it two nights later for the second time, I liked it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This recipe was easy and delicious. The herbs and red wine added subtle flavours. For a higher protein dish, I added tofu and chicken, and the flavours complemented the vegetables very well. I will keep making this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
It's like a veggie gumbo - really thick. It came out very sweet (didn't have marsala so I used mirin) so I added some hot sauce. That made a great combo of hot and sweet (if you like that sort of thing). If I made it again I'd mess around with adding hot peppers or at least a lot more red pepper flakes. Also I'd recommend sauteeing the eggplant after the onion and garlic - my eggplant got really mushy from being in there so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Fantastic! I added a half pkg of baby spinach at the end and one pound of cooked ground turkey (for the non vegetarians. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Didn't vary this recipe much other than I left the zucchini to sweat for about 20 minutes before rinsing. Also used white rice which was fine. Used a 14 oz can of diced italian tomatoes instead of fresh. Added a Tbs. of lemon juice. It was surprisingly thick, so added a little more water. Topped off each serving with Mozza cheese and it was an extremely filling dish! Will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoenix Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States