Eggplant, Zucchini and Sweet Red Pepper Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
Substituted yellow squash fo the zucchini I don't like, the red wine I had on hand for the Marsala, dried basil and rosemary I couldn't get fresh that day and plain rice for Basmati rice and still got a wonderful dinner. We even enjoyed the leftovers the next day. This is an excellent, healthy vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe - the next day! It does requires a lot of chopping...but worth it. I used 1/2 basmati rice and 1/2 white rice.. I preferred the meal the following day... the flavors really gelled then... Next time I will make it in the a.m for a p.m. meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Didn't care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Not good at all. I followed the recipe exactly and substituted 1/2 cup vinegar for the wine as that is supposed to be the proper substitute. It turned out to be a mushy mass of veggies. We love our vegetables but this just didn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Not spicy enough for us, so I added 4 hot banana peppers with seeds in chunks. That helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe, as did my husband and 10 yr old daughter. We are vegetarians and are always looking for someting new. I love one pot meals. I even made it two nights later for the second time, I liked it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This recipe was easy and delicious. The herbs and red wine added subtle flavours. For a higher protein dish, I added tofu and chicken, and the flavours complemented the vegetables very well. I will keep making this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
It's like a veggie gumbo - really thick. It came out very sweet (didn't have marsala so I used mirin) so I added some hot sauce. That made a great combo of hot and sweet (if you like that sort of thing). If I made it again I'd mess around with adding hot peppers or at least a lot more red pepper flakes. Also I'd recommend sauteeing the eggplant after the onion and garlic - my eggplant got really mushy from being in there so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Fantastic! I added a half pkg of baby spinach at the end and one pound of cooked ground turkey (for the non vegetarians. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Bruinius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Didn't vary this recipe much other than I left the zucchini to sweat for about 20 minutes before rinsing. Also used white rice which was fine. Used a 14 oz can of diced italian tomatoes instead of fresh. Added a Tbs. of lemon juice. It was surprisingly thick, so added a little more water. Topped off each serving with Mozza cheese and it was an extremely filling dish! Will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoenix Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States