Eggplant, Zucchini and Sweet Red Pepper Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This dish had nice flavor and was very easy to make. As per other reviewers I sauteed my onions and garlic first, then added the eggplant. After adding the other ingredients I discovered I only had organic rice in the house, which extended the cooking time a bit but otherwise worked just fine. I think I skipped the Marsala (feeding to kids) but we certainly didn't miss it. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My flatmate made this on a Monday night and it was such nice, mushy comfort food to come home to. The rice was very flavourful, having been cooked with all the veggies. I'd make it myself if I felt like something like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
this reminds me of ratatouille - it's pretty good - i think it needs to be topped with mozzarella cheese and serve up with some bread b/c otherwise it's just a bit borning - be sure to eat it all up b/c leftovers are not too tasty the next day as i have discovered
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I love this soup, it's easy and delicious. I've made it three times so far and it's officially in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I added a little black pepper and only 1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes, & omitted the basil & rosemary, due to family preference. I also substituted brown rice for the Basmati. I'm giving this 5 stars as my husband loved it. If you added some beans (like cannelini or navy), this would be even more filling & nutritious as a vegetarian entree, instead of just a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Yum!!!!!! Followed recipe for the most part and incorporated a few suggestions from other reviewers - 1) used 14.5 oz. can of Italian diced tomatoes instead of fresh ones (be sure to reduce the water by at least 1/2 cup if you use the liquid from the can as well) 2) added 1 tbsp of lemon juice 3) added cooked bay shrimp for some protein 4) sauteed onions/garlic first and then added eggplant Everything cooked down to a perfectly moist (yet not too watery) level! I used an electric burner so used the low setting (instead of simmer) for the last 30 minutes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Didn't vary this recipe much other than I left the zucchini to sweat for about 20 minutes before rinsing. Also used white rice which was fine. Used a 14 oz can of diced italian tomatoes instead of fresh. Added a Tbs. of lemon juice. It was surprisingly thick, so added a little more water. Topped off each serving with Mozza cheese and it was an extremely filling dish! Will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoenix Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Fantastic! I added a half pkg of baby spinach at the end and one pound of cooked ground turkey (for the non vegetarians. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
It's like a veggie gumbo - really thick. It came out very sweet (didn't have marsala so I used mirin) so I added some hot sauce. That made a great combo of hot and sweet (if you like that sort of thing). If I made it again I'd mess around with adding hot peppers or at least a lot more red pepper flakes. Also I'd recommend sauteeing the eggplant after the onion and garlic - my eggplant got really mushy from being in there so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This recipe was easy and delicious. The herbs and red wine added subtle flavours. For a higher protein dish, I added tofu and chicken, and the flavours complemented the vegetables very well. I will keep making this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States