Eggplant, Zucchini and Sweet Red Pepper Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I don't know why, but when I made this it just tasted bland, and nothing I could think of could bring it any kind of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Maybe I over cooked but a little too mushy for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
FANTASTIC recipe. I've made it I lost track of how many times. I first made this dish to be used as a side. It was so good, I've been making it to use as a complete dinner. This is tomato season and I used my tomatoes from my garden. I think the marsala wine adds just the right amount of 'sweetness' to the dish -- but keep in mind this is NOT a sweet dish. I didn't add the basil, rosemary and parsley. Although I like these spices, I just didn't add them here. I look forward to making this dish again. Thank you for this delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSROSYROSU

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Wow! This is tasty stew. I came home from the food co-op today with eggplant and only 2 small zucchini, among other things. I had no idea what to do with the eggplant, as I had never cooked it before. This recipe suited the ingredients I had on hand to a T, so I tried it even though my family isn't much for a great variety of vegetables. I'd be willing to eat this for a week if they won't. Lots of chopping, but well worth it! I didn't have marsala, so used vegetable broth for the water and wine. Had to chop most of the veggies small to increase the likelihood of my brood eating it, but left the zucchini and eggplant in chunks and added some ready-made meatballs (they love those). Also, had no basmati, so used ready-cooked brown rice instead. Wonderful flavor comes from the fresh herbs, garlic and tomatoes. Also added some bay leaves. Red pepper really gives it a kick! YUM! I'm going to serve it over crunchy garlic bread with fresh parmesan cheese on top. Can't wait. Hope they like it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I threw everything in a slow cooker for 3 hours instead. It was so yummy and SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is a great recipe - exactly what I was looking for. It'd be perfect with fresh bread (next time!) I used brown rice instead of basmati and added about 1/2 cup more water. Great side dish or light supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I added chicken and used dried basil in place of fresh (used 4 teaspoons). Overall, I think this is a sincerely solid dish. I'm glad I added chicken as it tasted great and added some texture to a dish that is otherwise very mushy. I did cut the zucchini in larger chunks, which helped, but I will add the eggplant to the pan a little later in the process next time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Good basic recipe. I felt it needed more spice so I used sate seasoning. I use Little Tiger eggplants which are very tender so I browned the eggplant in a seprate pan and added it during the last 5 min. of the cooking of the rest of the vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elco, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
What a great recipe! I served this garden stew with grated parmesan and toasted garlic bread to round out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I Didn't have onion wine or pepper flakes. Might have been even better with. I also didn't put the rice into the simmering veggies, I just served it all over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States