Eggplant, Zucchini and Sweet Red Pepper Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Wow! This is tasty stew. I came home from the food co-op today with eggplant and only 2 small zucchini, among other things. I had no idea what to do with the eggplant, as I had never cooked it before. This recipe suited the ingredients I had on hand to a T, so I tried it even though my family isn't much for a great variety of vegetables. I'd be willing to eat this for a week if they won't. Lots of chopping, but well worth it! I didn't have marsala, so used vegetable broth for the water and wine. Had to chop most of the veggies small to increase the likelihood of my brood eating it, but left the zucchini and eggplant in chunks and added some ready-made meatballs (they love those). Also, had no basmati, so used ready-cooked brown rice instead. Wonderful flavor comes from the fresh herbs, garlic and tomatoes. Also added some bay leaves. Red pepper really gives it a kick! YUM! I'm going to serve it over crunchy garlic bread with fresh parmesan cheese on top. Can't wait. Hope they like it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I threw everything in a slow cooker for 3 hours instead. It was so yummy and SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is a great recipe - exactly what I was looking for. It'd be perfect with fresh bread (next time!) I used brown rice instead of basmati and added about 1/2 cup more water. Great side dish or light supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I added chicken and used dried basil in place of fresh (used 4 teaspoons). Overall, I think this is a sincerely solid dish. I'm glad I added chicken as it tasted great and added some texture to a dish that is otherwise very mushy. I did cut the zucchini in larger chunks, which helped, but I will add the eggplant to the pan a little later in the process next time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Good basic recipe. I felt it needed more spice so I used sate seasoning. I use Little Tiger eggplants which are very tender so I browned the eggplant in a seprate pan and added it during the last 5 min. of the cooking of the rest of the vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elco, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
What a great recipe! I served this garden stew with grated parmesan and toasted garlic bread to round out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I Didn't have onion wine or pepper flakes. Might have been even better with. I also didn't put the rice into the simmering veggies, I just served it all over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I love this recipe. I have made it twice. I took the advice of another reviewer and flipped the cooking order of the eggplant and onions. When I cooked the eggplant first it soaked up all the oil and there wasn't any left to cook the onions. It worked much better the opposite way. I also used a can of Italian diced tomatoes (only because I didn't have any fresh) and that worked out great. I added extra water but I also used very large vegetables so that could be why I needed more water. All in all a very good way to use up vegetables from the garden. It freezes great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This dish had nice flavor and was very easy to make. As per other reviewers I sauteed my onions and garlic first, then added the eggplant. After adding the other ingredients I discovered I only had organic rice in the house, which extended the cooking time a bit but otherwise worked just fine. I think I skipped the Marsala (feeding to kids) but we certainly didn't miss it. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My flatmate made this on a Monday night and it was such nice, mushy comfort food to come home to. The rice was very flavourful, having been cooked with all the veggies. I'd make it myself if I felt like something like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States