Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I harvested my first 2 chinese eggplants from my garden... and then effectively ruined them with this horrible recipe. I had doubts about the garlic powder but I wanted to give the recipe a chance. When the water evaporated, clumps of garlic mush was all over my eggplant. I added the soy sauce with extra water to try and dissolve the garlic mush. The whole dish reeks of a very artificial garlic flavor. WHAT a waste of a beautiful vegetable. DO NOT try. Most people who gave good reviews used fresh garlic. But honestly, what sort of recipe uses powdered garlic instead of fresh?? That and the fact that this recipe is by 'what that burning smell' should have tipped me off. Honestly, I'm at fault...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethanny Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This is a great base recipe! I use a few cloves of real garlic because I don't like the taste of garlic powder. I've made an easy, cheap, healthy meal out of this by adding tofu and noodles. Onions, shallots, green beans, carrots, or any other spare vegetables you have are good in this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
THIS is my staple whenever my family goes out for Chinese food. Happy to be able to satiate my craving without having to order out:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Thank you for this recipe! The dish is a bit sweet as is, but I think if I put less in the next go around it should be good. Good with rice! Stir in ground turkey for extra flavor. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Nguyen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I left out the sugar and pepper. I added green onions and used fresh garlic. I will try it again with the sugar and spice, just this time I knew the guests wouldn't approve. haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChinaWallace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wuhan, Hubei Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Love it! I also added grounded pork, carrot, and green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I haven't changed anything, it's flavor was great, I left out pepper flakes because I can't take too much of hot in my food.. Overall it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Per some of the suggestions on the reviews, I halved the garlic and sugar. Turned out awesome. Recipe def a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This is a recipe for a no-romantic-date vacation day; with this amount of garlic your mouth will definitely smell garlicy! But I would not cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorudgar
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Made with suggestions of others - fresh garlic and ginger, cut sugar in half, and made vegan "oyster" sauce . Used method described by another reviewer. Lightly sauted eggplant (and bok choy), then removed from pan, prepared sauce and added back veggies to simmer until done. The sauce was Devine but a little thin. Will definitely make again! 5 stars for the flavor but knocked off a star for method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States