Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I didn't care for this recipe. I made it for my husband who loves eggplant but he didn't like it either. I gave it two stars because it was easy to make but the flavors and texture were just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
added oyster sauce but still needs a little more depth--better second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I'd give this five stars for the taste, which is wonderful (actually, I used four big garlic cloves, instead of garlic powder), but it loses one star for the presentation. By this recipe, the eggplant turns into mush. The eggplant chunks disappear. Here's why. Frying the eggplant for 4 minutes makes perfectly cooked eggplant. But when you add the water to the hot frypan, it boils explosively before it cools. Then you simmer, and the eggplant just turns into glop. DO NOT OVERCOOK THE EGGPLANT! The water won't be "absorbed". Instead, I recommend frying for just two minutes, cooling the frypan after frying, and adding all the other ingredients mixed together. Then simmer until the cornstarch starts to congeal. That leaves you with real chunks of eggplant in a thick sauce. BTW, to add some protein, throw in half a cup of frozen peas. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I have made this 2 times now. My whole family enjoys it. 2nd time i added some chicken. Great flavor-very similar to restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Great recipe. Used 4 Cloves fresh garlic instead of powder and garlic chili paste instead of red chili flakes. I add marinated chicken to dish for main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
@ Chuck, you over cooked the eggplant. The recipe calls for you to sautee for 4 minutes but that is way too long. You should fry it first for only 30 secs to 1 minute to set the color and texture. Remove from the oil and drain. Then prep all of your other ingredients in the wok and sautee the spices and etc, bring up to temp, then add your eggplant and cook till you reach desired texture. Cooking is about feel, feeling and touching and checking for texture and doneness and seasoning. You can't always go by a recipe word for word letter for letter. You have to think like a cook. M2C!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This eggplant recipe has wonderful flavor and a nice texture! My only complaint is that it came out very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Veggie Gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I used regular eggplant, through in some chicken,chicken stock, fish/oyster/hoisin sauces, 3 cloves of minced garlic, brown sugar and served over jasmine rice. Will make again but will try substituting Splenda for the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Easy and delicious. I prefer my eggplant to be super soft, but those saying this was too mushy can try using less oil and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dfreem5
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Like others, I substituted some ingredients. Minced garlic instead of powder, chicken stock instead of water, red chili paste instead of red pepper flakes. It didn't really need the sugar (I tried with Splenda), nor the cornstarch. I recommend a non-stick large pan (not a wok, as I did) or your pan will burn. A pain to clean up! All in all a very quick and easy recipe - a lot of bang for your buck! Tastes better than restaurant made, and much healthier, since I can control what goes in it. A definite repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States