Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is excellent. I tried another recipe for stir fried eggplant on this site and this one is much better. I didn't add as much sugar and garlic powder. And I didn't have any pepper flakes on hand, so I added a hint of tabasco. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This is great! I absolutely love eggplant, but have been fearful about cooking it. I used the regular eggplant, which yielded more than 4 servings. Therefore, I had to double the sauce. I added ground chicken and served over jasmine rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Loved this! Only change I made was subbed Hoison sauce for the oyster because I was out of the oyster. This made it a little too sweet but the mix of flavors was excellent! Looking forward to making it again after I buy some more oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I LOVED this recipe. The garlilc was just enough and the eggplant turned out perfectly. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I was looking for an eggplant dish that was similar to the one my stepmom makes. This dish was headed in the right direction but didn't make it all the way there. Still a decent meal though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats that Burning smell?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Delish!!!! I used hoisin sauce instead, since that is what I had on hand. I also reduced the sugar to 1tsp and it was plenty. So healthy and yummy at the same time! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Just okay. I wasn't floored by it. I thought it was maybe too sweet, and not spicy or salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Good base recipe for Szechuan-style garlic eggplant. Need to season the eggplant with some salt/pepper a bit while frying. Jazz it up using fresh crushed garlic instead of the powder, at least 2 fat cloves, right at the end of stir-frying the egglplant (mellowing the garlic), along with some green onion. For more flavor, add extra dash of oyster sauce and a good dash of fish sauce, a little more pepper flakes as well. Goes very well with added thin-sliced pork/chicken/beef. Just toss it in after you get the eggplant stir fryin' for a couple mins (takes less time to cook).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States