Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
4 stars because a couple of easy changes make this much better. Use fresh garlic instead of powder and chicken broth instead of water. I also suggest adding a little grated or diced ginger. The end result really did taste like what you would get in a good Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very, very good! I cut my eggplant pieces a bit too small -- at the end of cooking the eggplant had broken down a little too much, but still delicious! I followed advice of others and added a couple extra splashes of oyster sauce, and snipped some green onions to sprinkle on the top when serving. Next time I will try adding a little fresh ginger, as others have suggested. This is a keeper, and I look forward to making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this and everyone loved it. I did it a little differently than the instructions here--I mixed up the sauce first, used fresh garlic instead of powder, and fish sauce instead of oyster. I marinaded the eggplant cold, then stir fried it with tofu, broccoli, and scallion. Probably the closest I've gotten to Chinese restaurant-quality in all my Chinese cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
i made this yesterday and my husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by det70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Yummy! The local farmer's stand had these eggplant 5/1.00 - what a deal! I made this pretty much as directed but added 1 T. fish sauce and 1 1/2 tsp. ginger paste. I made 1 1/2 times the sauce called for as we like our dish saucey. Served this over rice - hubs asked for seconds. This one was a winner - I'll make this one again and again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Perfectly delicious. Just like take out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Fantastic. I had to take the red pepper flakes out for the kids, but they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great basic recipe - I used fresh minced garlic instead of powdered, and omitted oyster sauce as I didn't have any. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
LOVED this - especially how quick and easy it is to make. I used 3 cloves of fresh garlic, olive oil and a bit of butter instead of canola and 4 tbsp. of light soy sauce instead of oyster sauce. Just because I didn't have canola oil or oyster sauce on hand - and I'm a huge fan of fresh garlic over dried. I'm sure it is delicious the way it is written and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was really really good. I used minced garlic and brown sugar like others suggested, and doubled the sauce since we were eating it with rice. I used half eggplant and half zucchini since I didn't have enough of the eggplant. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerusalem, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pocola, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States