Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I replaced the garlic powder with minced fresh garlic and added some minced fresh ginger, too (about a Tbsp each). I also used thai chili sauce instead of red pepper flakes and brown sugar instead of white sugar. Loved this recipe and got lots of compliments from supper club, too. Added ground turkey to the leftovers for a main dish. Even better than the dish that I was trying to recreate from our local Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Yummy AND easy! Instant winner. I made some seemingly popular modifications, veggie stock instead of water, three cloves of fresh garlic instead of powdered, and doubled on the soy sauce since I didn't have oyster sauce. But I also only had a big Italian-style eggplant, which I cut into 1-inch cubes, rubbed with salt and lemon pepper before throwing them in the pan, and subbed in 2 teaspoons of Stevia for the sugar for a low-cal modification. Served over brown rice - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Very tasty! Definitely use fresh garlic and red pepper paste to freshen things up. I used about 5 cloves of garlic and about two teaspoons of chile paste. It was pretty spicy, but had great flavor. Also finished with a splash of rice vine vinegar, which was just the thing to balance and brighten the flavor. Will definitely make this again...often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
4 stars because a couple of easy changes make this much better. Use fresh garlic instead of powder and chicken broth instead of water. I also suggest adding a little grated or diced ginger. The end result really did taste like what you would get in a good Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very, very good! I cut my eggplant pieces a bit too small -- at the end of cooking the eggplant had broken down a little too much, but still delicious! I followed advice of others and added a couple extra splashes of oyster sauce, and snipped some green onions to sprinkle on the top when serving. Next time I will try adding a little fresh ginger, as others have suggested. This is a keeper, and I look forward to making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this and everyone loved it. I did it a little differently than the instructions here--I mixed up the sauce first, used fresh garlic instead of powder, and fish sauce instead of oyster. I marinaded the eggplant cold, then stir fried it with tofu, broccoli, and scallion. Probably the closest I've gotten to Chinese restaurant-quality in all my Chinese cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
i made this yesterday and my husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by det70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Yummy! The local farmer's stand had these eggplant 5/1.00 - what a deal! I made this pretty much as directed but added 1 T. fish sauce and 1 1/2 tsp. ginger paste. I made 1 1/2 times the sauce called for as we like our dish saucey. Served this over rice - hubs asked for seconds. This one was a winner - I'll make this one again and again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Perfectly delicious. Just like take out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Fantastic. I had to take the red pepper flakes out for the kids, but they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States