Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This eggplant recipe has wonderful flavor and a nice texture! My only complaint is that it came out very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Veggie Gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I used regular eggplant, through in some chicken,chicken stock, fish/oyster/hoisin sauces, 3 cloves of minced garlic, brown sugar and served over jasmine rice. Will make again but will try substituting Splenda for the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Easy and delicious. I prefer my eggplant to be super soft, but those saying this was too mushy can try using less oil and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dfreem5
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Like others, I substituted some ingredients. Minced garlic instead of powder, chicken stock instead of water, red chili paste instead of red pepper flakes. It didn't really need the sugar (I tried with Splenda), nor the cornstarch. I recommend a non-stick large pan (not a wok, as I did) or your pan will burn. A pain to clean up! All in all a very quick and easy recipe - a lot of bang for your buck! Tastes better than restaurant made, and much healthier, since I can control what goes in it. A definite repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Wonderful! I used real garlic and added a King Oyster Mushroom. Used hoisin sauce because I didn't have oyster sauce. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honey Clover
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Definitely had lots of flavor. I cut down on the sugar and substituted cornstarch with tapioca starch; was excellent with brown rice! 4/5 mostly because I felt it was too salty and a bit too spicy for me. Would make it again though but will cut down on the sodium a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Clover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I will never order spicy eggplant at a chinese restaurant again! This tastes just as good or even better. Very easy to make! I used fresh garlic instead of powder and I used brown sugar. Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
What the heck did I do wrong? Well, I think I know. I peeled the egg plant before I cooked it. Oops. Don't do that. My dish turned out to be a sauce (mish mash mush). It was also very gross with the oyster sauce. If I had not used the oyster sauce, it probably would have been better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by car

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I didn't follow it exactly. I used fresh garlic and brown sugar and added some fish sauce, but it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Yum! Followed recipe to the tee so I could give it a fair rating. I did cook the eggplant longer because I do like the eggplant soft. Also, if I were to make it again, I would probably use chopped garlic in the canola oil vs. garlic powder. My 11 year old daughter who normally doesn't like eggplant ate this up! She really liked it... Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kukadog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States