Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Great recipe! Just needs fresh minced garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Oh, man...I love this recipe! Garlic eggplant is one of my favourite side dishes, but because I underwent radiation many years ago, my mouth is extremely sensitive and I can no longer tolerate even the mildest spiciness...and every restaurant around here makes garlic eggplant with hot red peppers added. So upon seeing this recipe I had to give it a try. I omitted the crushed red peppers and added fresh garlic rather than powdered (have to agree with everyone else - fresh garlic is the only way to go!), and this came out exquisitely! I can now again enjoy my favourite dish, and it takes no time to prepare either...and at a fraction of the cost of takeout. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
it was okay really too sweet for me. I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I didn't care for this recipe. I made it for my husband who loves eggplant but he didn't like it either. I gave it two stars because it was easy to make but the flavors and texture were just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
added oyster sauce but still needs a little more depth--better second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I'd give this five stars for the taste, which is wonderful (actually, I used four big garlic cloves, instead of garlic powder), but it loses one star for the presentation. By this recipe, the eggplant turns into mush. The eggplant chunks disappear. Here's why. Frying the eggplant for 4 minutes makes perfectly cooked eggplant. But when you add the water to the hot frypan, it boils explosively before it cools. Then you simmer, and the eggplant just turns into glop. DO NOT OVERCOOK THE EGGPLANT! The water won't be "absorbed". Instead, I recommend frying for just two minutes, cooling the frypan after frying, and adding all the other ingredients mixed together. Then simmer until the cornstarch starts to congeal. That leaves you with real chunks of eggplant in a thick sauce. BTW, to add some protein, throw in half a cup of frozen peas. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I have made this 2 times now. My whole family enjoys it. 2nd time i added some chicken. Great flavor-very similar to restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Great recipe. Used 4 Cloves fresh garlic instead of powder and garlic chili paste instead of red chili flakes. I add marinated chicken to dish for main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This eggplant recipe has wonderful flavor and a nice texture! My only complaint is that it came out very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Veggie Gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I used regular eggplant, through in some chicken,chicken stock, fish/oyster/hoisin sauces, 3 cloves of minced garlic, brown sugar and served over jasmine rice. Will make again but will try substituting Splenda for the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States