Eggplant Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Simple, light, quick, and really quite good. After a couple of bites we declared this dish an everyday keeper. It even looks attractive on the plate. I do think the recipe is improved by taking a moment to add a little seasoning. Here are the details of what I did: Instead of using a greased cookie sheet, I used parchment paper. Before cooking, using a paint brush, I brushed each side of the eggplant slices with olive oil to coat the entire surface and then seasoned well with salt and black pepper on both sides. Then I sprinkled on some dried basil (had no fresh basil on hand). Topped this with the tomato slice and then topped that with FRESH grated parmesan cheese. 400 degrees for about 20 minutes did the trick; timing was not too critical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
I thought this was delicious! I did it a little differently though. I layered it this way: eggplant, parmesan, tomato, pepperjack cheese and topped with basil. This is a great variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Following some suggestions here, I brushed the eggplant lightly with olive oil and lightly seasoned both the eggplant and the tomato with salt, pepper, and basil. With a ripe heirloom tomato and freshly grated parmesan, this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This was a good way to use eggplant, although the recipe should note the eggplant should be peeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Very good starter, much better than similar recipes which call for tomato sauce. I brushed the eggplant with olive oil and sprinkled them with garlic salt. I also added oregano on top of the cheese. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made this appetizer instead of dinner yesterday. It turned out very tasty and looked great with few alterations. I took the eggplant skin off (just my preference) and lightly brushed each circle with olive oil. I added seasoning (salt, pepper and basil) in between the eggplant and tomato and tomato and cheese. I used some mozzarella and some Parmesan cheese since this is what I had on hand. I baked it covered at 400 degrees for about 35 minutes and then uncovered for about additional 15 to make the eggplant soft which is the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Scrumptious! I took the advice of some others and added spinach, mozzarella and fresh basil on top. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This is an extremely easy and delicious recipe! I did not brush the eggplant slices with olive oil to avoid unneeded calories, and they came out just fine. I did season with salt and pepper. On a couple I layered some spinach between the eggplant and tomato slices, and those came out good too. Highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
YUM! I'm not a big eggplant fan, but this was delicious. I added all the extras: a little olive oil, italian spices, salt & pepper, parmesan, and some mozarella. It was like pizza without the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Wow! These were really good! I'm not a big fan of eggplant either. I brushed tops with olive oil, added parm. cheese, tomato, and then topped with fat free mozarella. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States