Eggplant Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This did not taste good at all! I really love eggplant and always look for recipes with them in it, I will definitely not make this again. Very easy to make though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Looked pretty and is healthy enough, but the taste is entirely based on how flavorful the tomato and eggplant is, and of course freshly grated Parmesan cheese only! Nothing too exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Tastes a lot like eggplant parm without the breading. I added some mozzerella cheese to the tops of mine too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Take my rating with a grain of salt--it's how I imagine the original recipe. In my version, I used canned tomatoes with sauce (it's winter!), real parmesan cheese, and real mozarella. It is easy--simple, even. However, it was nothing special. Coat those eggplants in breadcrumbs for some eggplant parmesan, and you'll enjoy it more. Even without the egg (and added fat). Nonetheless, it is an easy way to get a couple servings of vegetables and a dose of calcium, although if you're doing it for purely health reasons (not to lose weight), you're best with skim cheese, not nonfat--you'll absorb more vitamins that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Wow! These were really good! I'm not a big fan of eggplant either. I brushed tops with olive oil, added parm. cheese, tomato, and then topped with fat free mozarella. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I really enjoyed this dish. It was quite fast (except the peeling took a bit long) and relatively easy. I added some olive oil and some salt free all purpose seasoning onto the eggplant before putting the cheese on and then added a bit more seasoning on top of the tomato. I love how it smells while baking and feel like it's a relatively healthy dish. I made this for my boyfriend last night and he really liked it as well. I've made this dish twice now and will add it to my permanent collection of favorite dishes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I sprinkled basil and garlic on the eggplant. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_a_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was pretty good. I've made it a several times and have experimented with different cheeses, also with sliced turkey and ham. It is kind of watery but I somewhat fixed that with the sliced ham on top of the eggplant and under the tomato. It is also a little tough with the skin still on, should I peel it first? The cheese I've also are American, Muenster, and Swiss. It is a very quick and easy snack or a light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
My husband prepared this as a side dish to our cod dinner. Our eggplant was small, so he didn't bother peeling it. We ran out of parm early, so he put slices of mozzarella on top of the eggplant rounds, topped with fresh chopped tomato, a little parm, then any herbs and spices that looked interesting. Super easy, and it tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This was a good way to use eggplant, although the recipe should note the eggplant should be peeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

How to Cook Eggplant

Watch how to prepare and cook this extremely versatile vegetable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States