Eggplant Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I got a lot of groans when my family was told they were having eggplant for dinner, but I didn't have any left when dinner was over. I did play with the recipe a bit, perhaps too much. I brushed the peeled eggplant with olive oil then salted and peppered. Then I laid a leaf of fresh basil and topped it with fresh grated parm. I topped that with the tomato, then put on grated mozzerella and a touch of dried oregano. My 11 yr old daughter eats next to nothing, yet she ate 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
omg..this was so easy and so tasty..i followed other suggestions of using parchment paper and brushing with oil and seasoning with salt & pepper along with oregano. I was looking for a different way to cook eggplant without using alot of fat and this did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
good easy eggplant dish, a bland in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie McLeod Boord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Great recipe! Simple, easy, healthy, and versatile. We used a variety of cheeses (each type by itself): swiss, meunster, feta, and aged hard cheese. Pick your favorite! We also enjoyed adding sprigs of fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was good. But like others, I changed it a little. First, I brushed the eggplant with olive oil and broiled it. Then I topped it with the tomatoe and feta with some dried basil and put it under the broiler for an additional minute or two. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I thought this was great! I did take the suggestions and brush the eggplant with olive oil. I also sprinkled the eggplant and tomato with basil, salt and pepper. It was delicious and filling. I ate it as a dinner but it would make a great side dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I thought this was just ok. We weren't crazy about the eggplant part of it, and we enjoyed the tomatoes on top much better. I'm not sure I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Simple, light, quick, and really quite good. After a couple of bites we declared this dish an everyday keeper. It even looks attractive on the plate. I do think the recipe is improved by taking a moment to add a little seasoning. Here are the details of what I did: Instead of using a greased cookie sheet, I used parchment paper. Before cooking, using a paint brush, I brushed each side of the eggplant slices with olive oil to coat the entire surface and then seasoned well with salt and black pepper on both sides. Then I sprinkled on some dried basil (had no fresh basil on hand). Topped this with the tomato slice and then topped that with FRESH grated parmesan cheese. 400 degrees for about 20 minutes did the trick; timing was not too critical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This was not a bad recipe overall, but I would definitely add more spices or herbs so it isn't as bland, and would recommend peeling at least some of the skin off eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
We really liked this. Although I did take other reviewers' suggestions... I added some salt and pepper and sprinkled a little dried basil on top. I also used regular Parmesan instead of fat free. I couldn't imagine it being as tasty without these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States