Eggplant Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made this appetizer instead of dinner yesterday. It turned out very tasty and looked great with few alterations. I took the eggplant skin off (just my preference) and lightly brushed each circle with olive oil. I added seasoning (salt, pepper and basil) in between the eggplant and tomato and tomato and cheese. I used some mozzarella and some Parmesan cheese since this is what I had on hand. I baked it covered at 400 degrees for about 35 minutes and then uncovered for about additional 15 to make the eggplant soft which is the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I ended up spraying the eggplant with non-stick canola Oil after it was in the oven for 10 minutes. I sprinkled a seasoning called Vegeta and added some ground black pepper for taste. This turned out so delicious...Mmm I will def. make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
We love eggplant, but it's hard to get my 3yr old and 1yr old to eat it, they loved this, and it's so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I brushed the eggplant slices with olive oil and tossed salt and pepper on them as well. I didn't have enough parm so I added slices of provolone on top of some of the tomatoes, and those turned out really yummy. Dusted a little garlic salt over everything once out of the oven. Delicious! And wonderfully simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I had ricotta cheese that I wanted to get rid of, so layered that on the eggplant, with the tomato and a drop of pasta sauce. I love it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Scrumptious! I took the advice of some others and added spinach, mozzarella and fresh basil on top. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was quick and easy. It tasted pretty good. I think it needed something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This is an extremely easy and delicious recipe! I did not brush the eggplant slices with olive oil to avoid unneeded calories, and they came out just fine. I did season with salt and pepper. On a couple I layered some spinach between the eggplant and tomato slices, and those came out good too. Highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Very tasty. I slipped some sliced avocado in between the eggplant and tomato to give it a bigger nutritional boost. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockbourne, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I got a lot of groans when my family was told they were having eggplant for dinner, but I didn't have any left when dinner was over. I did play with the recipe a bit, perhaps too much. I brushed the peeled eggplant with olive oil then salted and peppered. Then I laid a leaf of fresh basil and topped it with fresh grated parm. I topped that with the tomato, then put on grated mozzerella and a touch of dried oregano. My 11 yr old daughter eats next to nothing, yet she ate 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States