Eggplant Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
It was edible but very bland. Should have read the other reviews. Looks like a lot of people that rated it high were adding things to it. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwistyMcSpliffit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ebeisel1120
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Great recipe! I added chopped fresh basil to the parmesan cheese and it came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Really yummy! I made a few tweaks. I marinated the tomatoes overnight in balsamic vinaigrette and oregano. I also coated the eggplant with garlic butter and used mozzarella instead. It took about 5 minutes longer to cook but well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was really delicious. I did however, make a few minor adjustments after reading some reviews & for my own personal preference. I took the skin off of the eggplant and brushed on a little olive oil, sprinkled the eggplant with salt, pepper, and basil. Sprinkled with Parmesan cheese. Top with tomato and seasoned with pepper, salt, and basil and topped with mozzarella cheese. I baked for 25 minutes and served over pasta. It came out wonderful. My husband, mother-in-law, 6 yr. old step daughter, and 18 month old daughter, and I LOVED it! It will absolutely be making it again! Thank you for this excellent recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great base recipe. I was always afraid to cook with eggplant because of the "salting" and moisture issues you read about, but I've made two variations of this in the last two weeks. This second time I cut it, put a little spoonful of no salt added tomato sauce on top, seasonings, put a slice of tomato on that, and then a slice of skim mozzarella on each round (half the eggplant is about 6 rounds, so I get 4 meals of out one eggplant and two tomatoes). I have also tried putting a little olive oil on each round and dusting it with bread crumbs, but without is MUCH better. The breadcrumbs just get soggy in the microwave. Thanks for posting this. It was so easy; I wish I had found it a long time ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Loved it .... after adding salt and pepper, pesto, and EVOO. Even though this added calories, it is still next-to-nothing calories. YUM. I think it's more like an appetizer. I left on the eggplant skin and baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made this today. To get the eggplant a little softer, lightly brush the eggplant with olive oil.Going to peel the skin next time, and cut them thicker. Besides that little tweak, excellent idea. Easy, delicious, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I saw this and immediately knew I would use it. I had a lot of eggplant around, so I was already making some baba ganouj. I spread some of that on each piece. I also used asiago cheese instead of parmesan for a stronger flavor. My eggplant was oddly shaped, so some of the slices were much larger than my tomatoes. I used another half slice one those pieces to cover the difference. The result was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
So simple and beautiful! I even ate one cold the next day! I loved that I didn't have to salt the salt eggplant and let sit for an hour like most other eggplant recipes! Quick and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I thought this was pretty tasty. My husband, who doesn't like eggplant, even ate one piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Cook Eggplant

Watch how to prepare and cook this extremely versatile vegetable.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States