Eggplant Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Katerina
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
With the changes I made came out as a ... WOW dish! Very Mediterranean and flavorful. I used feta cheese and Swiss cheese that I already had and before I fried the eggplants I used the oil to saute fresh mushrooms with chopped onions. I baked the mushroom-onion mix with the eggplants adding a thin slice of swiss cheese and crumbles of feta cheese on each eggplant slice. I used olive oil for frying. yum!!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
LOVE THIS!!! Am eating it as I write and I have to say it's one of the best recipes I've found on this site. I was concerned about no garlic in the recipe, so I used a roasted garlic and tomato sauce and it turned out perfect!! Will make and share this one. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I love Eggplant Parm but this is my new version from now on! This is just awsome! We have lots of tomatos in our garden and the flavor of the fresh tomatos is just so good! The ricotta cheese makes this special too. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x11 pan so we would have leftovers. The only other change I made was to use milk instead of water in the egg wash and omitted the flour in the coating, using only Italian bread crumbs. I will be making this again and again!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
LOVE this recipe! My husband doesn't care for eggplant particularly and he loved it too. I would recommend doubling the amount of spaghetti sauce the recipe calls for. An average jar of spaghetti sauce is about 28 oz. I used a jar that size and it was barely enough in my opinion. Other than that the recipe is perfect. Highly recommended. I will surely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was pretty good. My hubby and I both chowed down, and it reheated alright, but I think it needs more than just eggplant in the veggie department. Maybe some mushrooms or zucchini would liven it up a bit, but a very good start:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEADRA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I loved this recipe! I tweeked it a little bit... instead of adding parmesan I used mozzarella cheese and it was delicious. I will diffently make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Tasty dish for vegetarians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I thought this was decent, but my husband didn't care for it. It had too much sauce and didn't set up like a lasagna. But if you like eggplant, you should enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This turned out excellent!! I made a couple changes: Used cream cheese instead of ricotta. The cheese mix wasn't runny enough to spread so I mixed in the left-over eggs from frying the eggplant slices. I added a handful of chopped fresh parsley to the cheese mix. Used 26-oz can of pasta sauce instead of 14. Spread fresh grated parmigiano cheese on top (mozz would work great too!) Used cherry tomatoes instead of sliced tomatoes. It easily could have served 8 people, so I think 4 is an under-estimate. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
FAB-U-LOUS!!! I added some mozzarella cheese to the top of the casserole and it was amazing. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAY06BRIDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harvey, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States