Eggplant Supper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This was soo good and soo easy! I omitted the pasta and carrots to cut down on carbs and it was just as good. For me, it was a cross between a soup, stew, and chili. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was really thick and hearty. Used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, used 14.5 oz cans of beef broth, and 2/3 cup of noodles. Also, put some shredded cheddar on top of each bowl. I loved this soup- my 2 year old ate a whole bowl. You can freeze this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This was really awesome! The sugar in it just gives it a touch of sweetness. Even if you don't like (or think you don't) eggplant, try it. There's not an eggplant flavor and it's great! My husband's not a big eggplant fan, but he loved it, too. By the way, he's the one that made it, so it had to be easy and he followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Oh wow. This is one of THE best eggplant recipes I've ever tried and SO EASY! I've halved the ground beef or used ground turkey or sausage with great results. I've also added diced zuchini, squash and extra macaroni, yum. Very hearty and nobody will suspect it has eggplant! I've served it several times for company and always get compliments and requests for the recipe. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I have been trying different eggplant recipes to use up the excess from the garden and this was by far the favorite. My family of 7 loved it; there was plenty plus leftovers. I used what I had on hand so I had several substitutes: I added some zucchini (1c.) and green beans (3/4c) and left out the celery; increased macaroni to 1 cup. Also I did not have Italian tomatoes so I used 6 medium tomatoes + 2 tsp. Italian seasoning +1/4 tsp. cumin. I used 6c. water + 3 tsp. beef bullion granules + 8 oz. tomato sauce in place of beef broth. I think would turn out great no matter what veggies you throw in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
DELICIOUS! Follow recipe exactly (which I usually don't do) and it turned out perfect! Also, leftovers freeze extremely well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This was so nice and hearty... used ground turkey instead of beef, and chicken stock instead of beef stock. I was going to omit the noodles altogether, but at the last minute i threw in some whole-wheat cous cous. fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe! I added a red bell pepper, used whole grain small elbow macaroni, omitted the parsley, did not drain the tomatos and added some red pepper flakes. This is a great base for adding all kinds of vegetables. I think it would be great to add a can or red kidney beans since the texture is very much like chili. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
My husband normally has not much to say, but he liked this one a lot. I loved it. A keeper for sure. I changed it to turkey and had one can of beef broth and one of turkey. Used small noodles (the little tiny tube kind) and it was great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
My husband and kids loved this dish and they don't always request that I repeat new recipes that I've tried. This one will definitely be added to our favorites. It is also a very cheap dish to make with most ingredients already on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cksmom1
Home Town: Sutton West, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Monte Vista, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States