Eggplant Supper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe! I added a red bell pepper, used whole grain small elbow macaroni, omitted the parsley, did not drain the tomatos and added some red pepper flakes. This is a great base for adding all kinds of vegetables. I think it would be great to add a can or red kidney beans since the texture is very much like chili. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Both my husband and I thought this soup was fantastic. Only change we made was we didn't drain the diced tomatoes and used 1/2 the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this for lunch. Again, Joline and I loved this. I omitted the pasta, used vegetable broth, and used a combination of ground chicken and seasoned baked tofu instead of beef. I also used San Marzano 28 oz can instead of 2 cans of diced tomatoes. It makes a difference for us...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug E. Shirts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yarmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Liked this a good deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Tasty but nothing special. The eggplant is hardly discernible. Needs more spices. I used a little less beef broth because I ran out, so it was more like stew than soup. I am giving an extra star because I left off the garnishes, which probably would've helped boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Super soup! I loved it. Very easy, quick and cheap. I did make a few little changes to what I had on hand. A great recipe will always allow for variations. I did not have parsley so I used a little dried basil and oregano. I also used what ever noddles I had (big whole wheat elbows). I used chicken broth and added a dash or Worcestershire sauce. Very hearty on a cold night. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
So good! Made as written with the exception of using about 4 cups of water & 5 bouillon cubes instead of canned broth. Also made w/out noodles. Exceptional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Very tasty. The first soup we've made this year. We left out the tomato and it had a very hearty flavor. We are just tired of tomato after all the zuchini dishes we've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe! Modified a bit--cut up sirloin steak instead of ground beef, and added fresh green beans, lima beans and a handful of various fresh herbs. Might try adding some corn next time, too. Great way to use garden veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This recipe is a winner !! Delicious and low cal to boot!! I added mushrooms and zucchini and used Allspice instead of nutmeg. I 've made it 3 times in the last 2 weeks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Swan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States