Eggplant Supper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Loved this soup I did not put any meat but put 1 yellow zuchinni, 2 bay leaves, 1 teas. basil/oregano and added 1/4 c. red pepper. I did not use pasta but added 1/4 c brown rice. Super healthy recipe and great flavor! Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
We had to make it vegitarian for my daughter so I substituted Morning Star Crumbles for the meat and used vegetable broth. Added mushroom that I needed to use and also substituted Quick Cooking Barley for the pasta. Easy & excellent! We all enjoyed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Very good - tastes yummy in my tummy on a cold Fall day! Used ground turkey instead of beef. Didn't drain the canned tomatoes, added more broth and threw in some extra veggies that needed to be used up. Family friendly - makes enough to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Wow! This is delicious! I tripled the recipe for my family (there are 11 of us) and added some okra because I had it around and it needed to be used. I omitted the beef completely and thought I might miss the flavor but I was SO wrong! It is Fabulous without any meat. I did add alittle chicken boullion to assist the flavor and I ground fresh nutmeg which was stronger but great. There's lots of chopping involved but with 5 of us it only took 15 minutes to prep and put into the pot. Thanks for a great recipe! We will be eating this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Mich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
GREAT recipe for a cold fall day! I used rice instead of pasta because I had some leftover in the fridge. I also added a couple of bay leaves. DELICIOUS - especially served with some bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Made exactly at posted at it was fantastic! I imagine even non-eggplant lovers will like this because you don't really "taste" the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I took out the beef and macaroni. Left everything else the same and it was great to have as a side dish. The nutmeg and sugar make this soup unique and very tasty. Its a new eggplant favorite at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Hayfork, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Surprisingly, i did not change anything about this recipe (i am usually very tempted, and always give in to the temptation), but here I only substituted bouillon for the broth and added italian herbs to plain canned tomatoes... VERY VERY GOOD RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Excellent!! I substituted zucchini for the celery and I cooked it all in one pot. This is a tasty one pot meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I was looking for a way to use up some of the eggplant we have in our garden and found this gem. I really enjoyed this soup. I did leave out the celery (didn't have any) and substituted fresh garden tomatoes for the canned (added some italian seasoning). I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States