Eggplant Supper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Wow! This is delicious! I tripled the recipe for my family (there are 11 of us) and added some okra because I had it around and it needed to be used. I omitted the beef completely and thought I might miss the flavor but I was SO wrong! It is Fabulous without any meat. I did add alittle chicken boullion to assist the flavor and I ground fresh nutmeg which was stronger but great. There's lots of chopping involved but with 5 of us it only took 15 minutes to prep and put into the pot. Thanks for a great recipe! We will be eating this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Mich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
GREAT recipe for a cold fall day! I used rice instead of pasta because I had some leftover in the fridge. I also added a couple of bay leaves. DELICIOUS - especially served with some bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Made exactly at posted at it was fantastic! I imagine even non-eggplant lovers will like this because you don't really "taste" the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I took out the beef and macaroni. Left everything else the same and it was great to have as a side dish. The nutmeg and sugar make this soup unique and very tasty. Its a new eggplant favorite at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Hayfork, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Surprisingly, i did not change anything about this recipe (i am usually very tempted, and always give in to the temptation), but here I only substituted bouillon for the broth and added italian herbs to plain canned tomatoes... VERY VERY GOOD RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Excellent!! I substituted zucchini for the celery and I cooked it all in one pot. This is a tasty one pot meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I was looking for a way to use up some of the eggplant we have in our garden and found this gem. I really enjoyed this soup. I did leave out the celery (didn't have any) and substituted fresh garden tomatoes for the canned (added some italian seasoning). I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was a perfect quick dinner. I had an eggplant I didn't know what to do with and an extra pound of ground beef. Everything else is staple pantry ingredients. I cooked it longer than the 15 minutes, so the flavors could meld a bit more. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I bought an eggplant today and didn't know what to do with this, so I made this recipe and it was excellent! The only things I did differently, since I didn't want to go back to the store, was I used beef buillon for the broth, and then I decided to add a bit more tomato. The spices really made the broth taste great. This is one I'll use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
The only thing stopping me from giving this 5 stars is the fact I made some changes to make it vegetarian. I used vegetable broth in place of the beef broth and kidney beans instead of meat. I used a multigrain pasta as well. I LOVED it. Next time I will experiment with different veggies. The nutmeg adds a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States