Eggplant Supper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Totally awesome just as the recipe calls for! I did add one peeled yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My daughter used to make this as written and then with turkey. Now we use Quorn Grounds and vegetable stock. You may need to add a little more oil/water to prevent sticking dring the browning stage. Just had a steaming bowl with garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
VERY good. Followed the recipe exactly except: -used plain canned tomatoes and just added lots of oregano, basil, and a dash of garlic powder. -used veggie penne instead of macaroni (had it on hand) -used dried parsley instead of fresh (about 2 tsp) -started with a stock pot and not a skillet since this clearly won't fit in a skillet. Just sayin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very nice, hearty recipe. To me, it mimicked a ratatouille style dish, probably because of the Italian seasoning in the tomatoes. Still delicious, and a great way to use up eggplants. I threw the ingredients into the crock pot in the AM, and let it simmer on low all day. Definitely got better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
So I had to modify this a bit, but it turned out nicely. I didn't have any canned tomatoes, but I had some butternut squash. I ended up sautéing the squash a bit, then putting it in the blender to puree it. That helped thicken the broth and my husband surprisingly loved it. I thought he would not be able to handle all of the eggplant, but he actually liked it. This will definitely make the repertoire for the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLS77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Loved this soup I did not put any meat but put 1 yellow zuchinni, 2 bay leaves, 1 teas. basil/oregano and added 1/4 c. red pepper. I did not use pasta but added 1/4 c brown rice. Super healthy recipe and great flavor! Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
We had to make it vegitarian for my daughter so I substituted Morning Star Crumbles for the meat and used vegetable broth. Added mushroom that I needed to use and also substituted Quick Cooking Barley for the pasta. Easy & excellent! We all enjoyed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Very good - tastes yummy in my tummy on a cold Fall day! Used ground turkey instead of beef. Didn't drain the canned tomatoes, added more broth and threw in some extra veggies that needed to be used up. Family friendly - makes enough to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Wow! This is delicious! I tripled the recipe for my family (there are 11 of us) and added some okra because I had it around and it needed to be used. I omitted the beef completely and thought I might miss the flavor but I was SO wrong! It is Fabulous without any meat. I did add alittle chicken boullion to assist the flavor and I ground fresh nutmeg which was stronger but great. There's lots of chopping involved but with 5 of us it only took 15 minutes to prep and put into the pot. Thanks for a great recipe! We will be eating this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Mich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
GREAT recipe for a cold fall day! I used rice instead of pasta because I had some leftover in the fridge. I also added a couple of bay leaves. DELICIOUS - especially served with some bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States