Eggplant Supper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This soup was delicious and hardy. I added chopped bell pepper. Will make again and freeze for a great meal during the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EUFAULATWIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I found this recipe in 1973 and it became a family staple. We ate it so much our three boys each said they were glad to leave home because they no longer had to eat eggplant supper soup for days on end. I got a little carried away I liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Great soup!!! I used olive oil to brown the meat instead of vegetable oil, and omitted the macaroni and carrots to make it low carb. Unfortunately, when I went to drain the meat I accidentally dropped the lid and half of my meat fell down the sink!!! Bummer!!! Even with that unfortunate mishap, this dish was great!!! Husband said it is worth a repeat! I would have to agree! I'm sure it will be just as good with all the of the meat in it! Haha! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe with a couple modifications. I omitted the macaroni and used splenda instead. I also used plain diced tomatoes and used my own italian seasoning mix. I used about a teaspoon of that seasoning. I also had to double the salt and added one tablespoon thyme. I let it simmer for about 30 minutes and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
PERFECTO! I didn't change the recipe. I thought why change it if it's working for others. As recommended by others, I added 1 sliced zucchinis, 1/2 cup uncooked rice and pepper flakes. I used 4 tomatoes because I was out of canned tomatoes. Results - DELICIOSO! I ate 4 bowls of soup! My neighbors and my husband devoured the soup. My 3 school age kids didn't eat much of it. I should have told them it's vegetable soup. I think the word "eggplant" threw them off the grid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Really good and hearty soup. Made just as recipe states and it was awesome with plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Some how I over cooked the eggplant. It was still good. It does make a hearty soup. I made it a couple days before warming it up during the week. Cooling the soup allowed me to skim off the fat before it warming up during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Henning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Unexpectedly delicious. Super easy to prepare. Everyone really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delicious. I didn't drain the tomatoes and cooked the carrots and noodles separate from the soup (but together with each other) to acoomodate my low-carb husband. The rest of us just added the noodles and carrots to our bowls with the rest of the soup. The kids did not even question the eggplant. A complete hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made this as is, and for me -- it was delicious! As for my friend (who is kind of picky w/ her food) didn't care for it too much. She told me, "it was an aquired taste". I thought the flavors complimented one another nicely. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States