Eggplant Supper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe with a couple modifications. I omitted the macaroni and used splenda instead. I also used plain diced tomatoes and used my own italian seasoning mix. I used about a teaspoon of that seasoning. I also had to double the salt and added one tablespoon thyme. I let it simmer for about 30 minutes and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
PERFECTO! I didn't change the recipe. I thought why change it if it's working for others. As recommended by others, I added 1 sliced zucchinis, 1/2 cup uncooked rice and pepper flakes. I used 4 tomatoes because I was out of canned tomatoes. Results - DELICIOSO! I ate 4 bowls of soup! My neighbors and my husband devoured the soup. My 3 school age kids didn't eat much of it. I should have told them it's vegetable soup. I think the word "eggplant" threw them off the grid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Really good and hearty soup. Made just as recipe states and it was awesome with plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Some how I over cooked the eggplant. It was still good. It does make a hearty soup. I made it a couple days before warming it up during the week. Cooling the soup allowed me to skim off the fat before it warming up during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Henning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Unexpectedly delicious. Super easy to prepare. Everyone really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delicious. I didn't drain the tomatoes and cooked the carrots and noodles separate from the soup (but together with each other) to acoomodate my low-carb husband. The rest of us just added the noodles and carrots to our bowls with the rest of the soup. The kids did not even question the eggplant. A complete hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made this as is, and for me -- it was delicious! As for my friend (who is kind of picky w/ her food) didn't care for it too much. She told me, "it was an aquired taste". I thought the flavors complimented one another nicely. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Delicious!! I substituted sweet Italian sausage for the ground beef to add to the sweet flavor this soup offers. It turned out delicious! Happy bellies = happy mommy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Delicious! You only have to cook it 12 minutes and it tastes like it's been cooking for hours. I made it exactly as the recipe says. One small note - my pasta was a bit overcooked by the time the veggies were soft. Either cut the veggies super small or let the soup cook for a few minutes before adding pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Delish! Really flavorful and an easy one pot dinner that will serve an army. I cooked it for probably 2-3 hours on low and didn't eat til the next day-my husband was a big fan. Would work great with ground turkey, sausage, shrimp, chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BirdMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States