Eggplant Supper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Words cannot describe how good and hearty this tasted. As a vegetarian, it's difficult to find a decent, filling soup so I was happy to have found this. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Great tasting soup. Followed the recipe exactly. Even the 6year old grandson who is very picky loved it!. I do not say the word eggplant when they ask what's cooking. I just say hamburger soup. They have asked me at least once a week to make it. This soup is so easy even a beginner can make it! Tried it with leftover turkey and used chicken stock instead of beef, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I love this soup but I did play with the recipe. I cut the eggplant in to 1/2 in cubes, and roasted them in the oven. I added a ear of fresh corn (cut off the cob). It was delicious! I took this to a party and didn't tell anyone there was eggplant in it! Even my husband still doesn't know that eggplant was the base. This worked well with so much eggplant from my CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Just delicious. I too used ground italian seasoned turkey. Had to run to the store so I could make another pot. My hubby and sister and I ate it all. The next batch I made I added an extra carton on stock so it would be a little more soupy. I also added some 21 salute from trader joes. Next time I will add yellow bell peppers. I also used shredded carrots looked really pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I am quite impressed, and eggplant does not impress me. I halved the recipe, but bulked it with extra veggies (rutabaga and chard) I omitted the sugar completely as I do not appreciate sweet in my soups. I did not have chopped tomatoes so used half a cup of tomato sauce and added Italian seasoning to it. I can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Made exactly as described, except I had no celery or carrots so I replaced them with zucchini, this was a delicious soup with loads of flavour, I would like to try again with the celery and carrots as I bet it would have even more flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This was delicious! Even my picky 3-year old, who gags on most veggies, gobbled this up & asked for seconds!! I used ground turkey & chicken broth instead of the beef, and omitted the celery since I had none on hand. I think zucchini or another squash could be subbed for the eggplant with equally good results. Next time, I will add some beans to the recipe for a heartier result...there will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I made this for dinner last night. It turned out excellent. Even my hubby ate most of his, and he doesn't like eggplant. I had to make a few adjustments based on what I had. Chicken base and water instead of beef broth, as well as, plain diced tomatoes with liquid. Also omitted the sugar and salt, and added oregano, cumin and worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I liked it, but my husband couldn't stand to eat it. If I make this again, I will cook the noodles separately then add them to each bowl just before serving. Otherwise, if you have leftovers the noodles get really mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Never been crazy about eggplant...what was i thinking! My husband brought a bunch home from work and i came accross this. I have made this over and over beacuse it is amazing, my new favorite soup. A wonderful addition to our home. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States