Eggplant Supper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe! Modified a bit--cut up sirloin steak instead of ground beef, and added fresh green beans, lima beans and a handful of various fresh herbs. Might try adding some corn next time, too. Great way to use garden veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This recipe is a winner !! Delicious and low cal to boot!! I added mushrooms and zucchini and used Allspice instead of nutmeg. I 've made it 3 times in the last 2 weeks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Swan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very good flavor. An unusual flavor for my family, but delicious. My 1.5- & 3-year-olds ate it right up, as well as my I-don't-like-eggplant husband. I used water + 1 cube beef bouillion because I didn't have beef broth. Also didn't add salt. Also, didn't have canned tomatoes, just one diced Roma tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Desperately needs additional spices. Quick and easy, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I used ground chicken/chicken broth for the beef and also added zucchini. I left out the pasta and didn't feel it was lacking. Hearty veg soup. The eggplant isn't noticeable for all you eggplant haters out there including my husband who really liked the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This soup is so yummy. I loved the soup and my 3 and 4 year old boys said it was their favorite. It is nice to have some options with Eggplant. I definately plan on having this again. I used ground turkey instead of beef and curley noodles instead of macaroni. Thanks for a wonderful soup. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
My daughter has eaten it as leftovers for 2 days now. XOXOXO this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli-TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I made this just as the recipe said, minus the nutmet (none on hand). This soup is really good! I had eggplant from my csa box and this has been the best way I have prepared the eggplant yet.. It made alot of soup and I shared with my neighbors who raved about it! I will be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I didn't have eggplant, so substituted cauliflower cut into smallish florets. It was delicious. When I later made it with eggplant, we both agreed that it was better with the cauliflower because of the added crispness of the vegetable. This recipe freezes well. so I always double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
So good! I added squash and zucchini to the mix and didn't drain the tomatoes so there would be enough liquid. Great time to sneak in whole grain pasta too! I had to simmer this for longer than I thought I would for the veggies to cook, but I did double the recipe--so maybe that's why. This will definitely be in the rotation! Just don't tell the family how healthy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States