Eggplant Supper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jonboy924
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Use ground lamb instead of beef. Add some red pepper flakes for spice. This dish was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by keli
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Easy and tastes very good. Definitely would like to improve on spices next time as somewhat bland prepared as is. Loved the eggplant and ground beef combo. May prepare with Hungarian goulash style recipe next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moneyCuz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Been making this recipe for a while and we love it. My husband and stepson are super picky and normally won't eat vegetables but they love this soup. You can add ain't any vegetables you want or change up the seasonings. Also to make it a little healthier I've used ground turkey, ground pork or ground chicken all of them taste good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
simple hearty and savory, good for cold nights !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Great way to use up our eggplant harvest this year. I loved the ease of this recipe and used almost everything out of our own garden. This was really good on a cold rainy day. The only thing different I did was add fresh green beans. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I liked this recipe. It is an interesting way to get lots of veggies. I had a bunch of eggplant from a farmer's market and didn't know what to do, so I made this. I ended up doubling the recipe because I had so much eggplant. That was a mistake because it was too difficult to cook it all together since I didn't have a large enough pot. So I put half in a crock pot after the beef was cooked and the other half I left on the stove top. In the end it turned out alright. I doubled the amount of macaroni called for by the recipe (so I quadrupled it since I doubled the recipe). I used the little Ditali macaroni noodles because they are small and I think they work well for soups. I spice up my bowl by adding some Louisiana Crystal hot sauce or Tabasco. The one downside to this recipe is that eggplant is a little bit difficult for my stomach in large quantities, but that's probably because I don't have it as often as I should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Delicious! Altered it to follow the paleo diet by omitting cheese, sugar and macaroni. Great way to use up extra eggplant. Didn't have canned tomatoes so used regular tomatoes and added a tablespoon of tomato paste and italian seasoning. Added 2 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. Used ground turkey instead of ground beef, and water in place of beef stock. Added a green pepper and some seasoning peppers (caribbean). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Loved! I did tweek the recipe though. Didn't have the ground beef so I used Bob Evans regular sausage. I didn't have two cans of the Italian tomatoes , so used one can and one can of fire roasted tomatoes . Didn't measure eggplant I just diced and put whole thing. It isn't only 12 min to heat up either . Takes longer than that to make sure carrots are cooked thru. I cooked in a heavy pot on simmer for about three hrs. Then added my cheese before serving. My husband doesn't really care for eggplant and was reluctant about tasting, but he did only because his co-worker gave him the eggplant. :) he really enjoyed it though. Great Fall soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States