Eggplant Supper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Great way to use up our eggplant harvest this year. I loved the ease of this recipe and used almost everything out of our own garden. This was really good on a cold rainy day. The only thing different I did was add fresh green beans. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I liked this recipe. It is an interesting way to get lots of veggies. I had a bunch of eggplant from a farmer's market and didn't know what to do, so I made this. I ended up doubling the recipe because I had so much eggplant. That was a mistake because it was too difficult to cook it all together since I didn't have a large enough pot. So I put half in a crock pot after the beef was cooked and the other half I left on the stove top. In the end it turned out alright. I doubled the amount of macaroni called for by the recipe (so I quadrupled it since I doubled the recipe). I used the little Ditali macaroni noodles because they are small and I think they work well for soups. I spice up my bowl by adding some Louisiana Crystal hot sauce or Tabasco. The one downside to this recipe is that eggplant is a little bit difficult for my stomach in large quantities, but that's probably because I don't have it as often as I should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Delicious! Altered it to follow the paleo diet by omitting cheese, sugar and macaroni. Great way to use up extra eggplant. Didn't have canned tomatoes so used regular tomatoes and added a tablespoon of tomato paste and italian seasoning. Added 2 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. Used ground turkey instead of ground beef, and water in place of beef stock. Added a green pepper and some seasoning peppers (caribbean). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Loved! I did tweek the recipe though. Didn't have the ground beef so I used Bob Evans regular sausage. I didn't have two cans of the Italian tomatoes , so used one can and one can of fire roasted tomatoes . Didn't measure eggplant I just diced and put whole thing. It isn't only 12 min to heat up either . Takes longer than that to make sure carrots are cooked thru. I cooked in a heavy pot on simmer for about three hrs. Then added my cheese before serving. My husband doesn't really care for eggplant and was reluctant about tasting, but he did only because his co-worker gave him the eggplant. :) he really enjoyed it though. Great Fall soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe came out wonderful. Very tasty it was just perfect for a cool September evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I'm making this for the second time tonight... It is fantastic as is... I change nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Other then using ground turkey and chicken broth, and leaving out the nutmeg (I don't care for it) I followed the recipe and it was very good. I think I will add some cabbage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I didn't add celery, but this was simple, fast and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This was so awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I was a little skeptical, but this turned out amazing! I ended up having to use two skillets to cook all the ingredients and then switched it all over to a dutch oven before I added the pasta (I used mini farfalle). I added Italian seasoning and used fake ground beef, that morningstar crumbles stuff, and it came out really great -- and almost vegetarian, other than the beef broth. It was a huge hit with both me and my eggplant-neutral spouse. Next time I'll cook the carrots and celery a little longer. This is definitely going on the regular dinner rotation in the blxbrg household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States