Eggplant Stuffed with Lamb and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
itis still in the oven, so i havent tasted it yet. my advice is to either half the meat recipe if you are only using two eggplants. if not, then you can easily stuff three eggplants with this mixture. i had so much left over so i put around the sides of the eggplants ending up with something that looks like a 9x10 inch meatloaf. also when picking the eggplants try to get male eggplants. they have lots less seeds. mine were female and after discarding the seeds, i had very little eggplant pulp left. if you dont know how to tell male from female...look at the bottom of the eggplant. males have a round bellybutton, females have a longer almost slit like bellybutton. no joke. since this turned out to be so much meat, i am making some rice to serve with it. a simple salad, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I used two small eggplants and had lots of filling left, so I baked it in a separate dish and will use it later for something. Really enjoyed the flavors in this, especially the cinnamon and allspice. I will make this again, only with bigger eggplants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This recipe was prefect as written. I made no changes except I used a garlic Feta. This is a VERY hearty meal (more then enough). For breakfast the next day I reheated the filling and served it with eggs and toast instead of potatoes. Perfect and wonderful. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hurdledynasty
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I love eggplant and lamb so it was nice that this recipe called for both. I think it would have been better without the cinnamon and allspice. Lamb has a very distinct taste and the spices completely overpowered the flavor of the lamb. I will make this again but I will omit the spices. Otherwise, this was a pretty solid recipe and a more creative alternative to stuffed peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is a very traditional Greek tasting recipe. I loved it and I am not a big lamb fan. I like moussaka as well and this reminds me of that. It was easy to prepare and for us enough for another meal. That went into the freezer after I cooked it so it will only need to be reheated in the microwave when the time comes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Excellent. One of my favourites. Really, I can't say much more. While it may not be the prettiest lookning dish, it's what's underneath that counts. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Really good. However I would slow cook the onions first until really soft. Take them out, put in the lamb and peppers (i used a red bell), cook them down and add onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
A great recipe and lovely looking too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bergy
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
What a treat this recipe is lovely cinnamon,allspice garlic, peppers & onion really give this recipe a taste treat. I used herb "Apetina" feta. I cut the recipe in half and my eggplant was not that large so I had quite a bit of stuffing left over. I just wrapped it in foil and baked it along side. Makes for a tasty lunch next day. This is a do again recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Thank you this was so easy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States