Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Mmmmm! I really liked this recipe. I did change a few things though. First of all, I would peel the eggplant. The skin on mine got a little tough after it was cooked, and slice the eggplant into 1/2-inch slices. When they're too thin, they do come out crispy! Instead of brushing with oil, I sprayed the slices with cooking spray and dusted with salt and pepper. I used light mayo and reduced the amount to cut calories. I added 1/4-1/2 tsp garlic powder instead of the garlic cloves because I was short on time. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I thought this was one of the best sandwiches I have ever had! I followed the recipe. I did peel the eggplant and I think I would slice it thicker next time - but delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Very good, even with dried basil. I also used flatbread instead of French rolls and sliced the eggplant into 1/2" slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Truly the most delicious sandwich ever. I cut the eggplant about 1/2" thick and grilled it on a charcoal grill, and I used Portuguese rolls. My husband and I couldn't stop raving about them. This sandwich now has a place of honor in my repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
YUMMY!! This was so good, and easy to make! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
Best thing I've had in a long time. I can't get enough. I even made ingredients without the bread the day after. Also used gorgonzola cheese or mozzarella since my husband doesn't care for feta. Without the bread I added red wine vinegar and olive oil in place of garlic mayo, and added roasted red pepper. Thanks for this recipe! The eggplant is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
My husband and I love this sandwhich....very tasty, very healthy, a great alternative to meat! We have made it three times in the past 2 months....yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Simple and Excellent...you'll be wanting more and more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Excellent. Loved it. I ended up overeating because I liked these so much. Had no basil so added cilantro as I had those fresh.And yes, whole wheat toast made it more wholesome:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Awesome! It's also good with Zuchini. We're not vegans but would prefer this over a cheeseburger. A real bonus that it's more nutritive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States