Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Here's what you can do to prevent sogginess: slice YOUNG eggplant crosswise 3/8" thick, place on rack and salt both sides. Allow to sit for several hours, then dab off excess moisture w/a paper towel. Eggplant is just like a sponge so to prevent more sogginess VERY LIGHTLY brush on olive oil; broil on a rack until very nicely browned on both sides. Young eggplant skin is more tender, so you won't have to peel it. Use fruits that are about 2 1/2" at their widest part. I needed 2-3 to make four sandwiches. This gives a really meaty texture without sogginess OR being overdone. To sweeten the loud garlic, after dicing it, I cooked it in a bit of olive oil until soft (do not brown or it will turn bitter), then mashed it before adding to the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Mmmmm! I really liked this recipe. I did change a few things though. First of all, I would peel the eggplant. The skin on mine got a little tough after it was cooked, and slice the eggplant into 1/2-inch slices. When they're too thin, they do come out crispy! Instead of brushing with oil, I sprayed the slices with cooking spray and dusted with salt and pepper. I used light mayo and reduced the amount to cut calories. I added 1/4-1/2 tsp garlic powder instead of the garlic cloves because I was short on time. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Truly the most delicious sandwich ever. I cut the eggplant about 1/2" thick and grilled it on a charcoal grill, and I used Portuguese rolls. My husband and I couldn't stop raving about them. This sandwich now has a place of honor in my repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
These are the worst! The eggplant was so soggy, it reminded me of guacamole. You should try instead to microwave the eggplant for about 1 1/2 minutes, or until the centers are cooked, then melt margarine in a large skillet over medium heat and fry them until lightly toasted on each side. That's how it's done in the eggplant burger recipe on this site that's fantastic! They come out perfectly. If the eggplant hadn't been ruined, this recipe might've been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I make this almost every week! One of the best veggie meals. Even my carnivore of a husband said that he liked it! OMG! Thank you for such a great recipe! A few changes: Soak in basalmic first....just grill. I use goat cheese instead of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
My husband (who is a meat and potatoes man) loved this recipe exactly like it is and can't wait for us to have more eggplant in our garden ready so he can eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAJUNSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I thought this was one of the best sandwiches I have ever had! I followed the recipe. I did peel the eggplant and I think I would slice it thicker next time - but delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
ooooh this did not turn out for me! It was so disaterous that we have decided to enjoy eggplant when ordered out from now on. But for those of you who have more kitchen success, I'd suggest reducing the broiling time a bit, my eggplant was a bit... excessively crispy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Delicious! The only change we made was to grill the eggplant rather than broiling it. We'll definately be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
THIS IS SUCH AN AWESOME SANDWHICH!MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVES IT.I'VE ALREADY MADE THEM TWICE AND CAN'T WAIT TO MAKE THEM AGAIN FOR MY FRIEND'S.I USED FRESH JAPANESE EGGPLANT FROM MY GARDEN.EVERY THING ELSE REMAINED ACCORDING TO RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States