Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great and quick sandwich. I was a little hesitant about using not cooked garlic with the mayo,but it tasted wonderful. Something a little different to break up the monotony of my usual recipes. Also, I cut my eggplant in about 1/2" slices since the recipe didn't specify, and that seemed to work well. The eggplant slices were done perfectly in 10 minutes. The only downside of this would be the garlic breath afterward. Not a good first date meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Hubby and I thought it was ok but definitely not great. Upside: healthy, got to use eggplant picked last night! Downside: Mayo & veggies oozed out with every bite, very messy; basil overwhelmed other flavors. Guide on thickness of eggplant slices would be helpful. 20 min of broiling was not enough--maybe that's due to using a toaster oven. One reviewer said she grilled; that might improve flavor. In the broiler, it was so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
My husband is also a meat lover and said he would have this sandwich again in a heartbeat. Didn't miss meat one bit. I served open face on a baguette. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very easy and tasty - i used hummus instead of mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
It is very good! I actually wrapped in tortilla and added sprouts and it is delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was a yummy recipe.. I didn't have feta so I substituted with parmesian cheese... it was a good switch... very filling and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Made this for my vegetarian son who was home for the weekend. It was great! Even I liked it and I'm not a big eggplant fan. We used small hamb buns so did not cut the eggplant slices in half. Made the eggplant just as the recipe said and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were great! Made Denyse' "Garlic Butter" (from this site), spread over the rolls and toasted under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JiNKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is about the best sandwich ever! I am making it again tonight for the 2nd time (would have made it more often except for the heat from the oven! - this is the 105+ forever summer). The only thing I did different the 1st time was I took the advice of others and peeled and sweated. I was reviewing the reviews again tonight as I don't have any fresh basil so I am going to try the suggestion of dried in the mayo. Expect it to be FANTASTIC as before - but I do think the fresh is always the best option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is soooo good. I put raspberry vinagar on mime. Good job Jamie. Very tasty. Nice recipe to get kids cooking and a great one to give in a basket with all the fixings for a thinking of you sort of gift. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States