Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe was really good. I made a few changes because I do not like mayo I I mixed olive oil, garlic and balsamic vinegar and lightly spread it over wheat flat bread instead of a hoggie roll. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vejigante

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Really a nice meatless treat, I grilled my eggplant on a penne grill and ended up grilling the whole thing, really, thank so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StableBoy
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
A fast, yummy, easy vegetarian sandwich, works for me! I did a striped peel on the eggplant, then lowered my broiler rack because I think it would have burned within the 10 minutes. I served it with provolone on wheat bread, that's what was on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was great. Very important to sweat the eggplant first. I grilled mine on a george foreman, added grilled red peppers and alfalfa sprouts! This is my new go to veggie sandwich, thank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This sandwhich is quick & easy to make. Since I love eggplant, I double layered my eggplants. I also used wheat roll. Great with soup and/or chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These were really really good. Very close to the UCI sandwiches they were modeled after. Easy too. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
You have to know how to handle eggplant. I placed slices on a cookie sheet and salted both sides and let them sit for at least 30 minutes. Then I took highly absorbent papertowel(youll need alot) and I pressed the eggplant between the paper towel with my palms. I wouldnt recommend over pressing because It does shrink the size of the eggplant alot and I preffer a little juiciness. But if you want them really meaty press itall out. I just salt them and eat them as a snack. I even chopped some the next morning and added it to some acrambled eggs covered in Mozzerella. You can pretty much use eggplant in place of meat in anything. In the summer I cut it in strips lengthwise and brush w/olive oil and chaopped garlic and grill it as a side dish. The possibility's are endless just dont forget to do the salt and sweat first. Good Basic Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angielovesdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I loved this! I breaded and baked my eggplant though b/c I thought I would like it better that way. I cut the eggplant into 1/4 inch slices and dipped them in a mix of 1 egg mixed with 1 T milk then dipped them in a mix of 1/2 cup plain breadcrumbs mixed with 2 T graded parmesan. Then baked them for about 25 minutes at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These were divine! I followed the recipe to a "T". I'm trying to get more involved in vegetarian cooking, so this will be a favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This recipe is amazing! These also make good appetizers if you use bruschetta-size toast or slice up a sourdough or french baguette! The fresher the ingredients, the better. Good on ciabatta rolls, too. The sandwich is good for lunch or for a lighter, refreshing dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by le_quash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States