Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I followed the original recipe, and it was one of the best sandwiches I have ever had. I will make it again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This doesn't make them better, just easier. I used my Presto electric tabletop grill. Drizzled olive oil, grilled eggplant while slicing bread which then went on the same grill to brown. After the bread came off, added a touch more olive oil and cooked the pressed garlic on the grill. Then spread that garlic/oil mixture out and put the bread over it, cut side down, to brown some more. Meanwhile, still grilling eggplant. All got done at the same time, less to watch, less to clean. I did use half the mayo and guess what - turned the heat way down and kept the completed sandwiches warm as long as needed. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
These were delicious! I made homemade Vienna rolls (Joy of Cooking -- these are the best!) and used reduced fat feta and couldn't tell the difference at all. I didn't want to bother mixing the mayo and garlic in case I got too much mayo so I just spread a little minced garlic right on the sandwich. Unfortunately a recent bout of hail all but destroyed my basil, so we skipped it. I typically try to keep things healthy -- you know, replace oil with applesauce, white flour with home-ground whole wheat, etc. etc., but I am still a southern girl so I have an admission to make: I fried my eggplant. (After dipping in egg and then in flour). This was ONE GOOD SANDWICH! Sadly, it was only after the fact that I remembered that I actually have baked eggplant as an alternative to frying (Eggplant Parmesan) and it was still delicious, so next time I will bake this and see how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe was really good. I made a few changes because I do not like mayo I I mixed olive oil, garlic and balsamic vinegar and lightly spread it over wheat flat bread instead of a hoggie roll. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vejigante

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Really a nice meatless treat, I grilled my eggplant on a penne grill and ended up grilling the whole thing, really, thank so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StableBoy
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
A fast, yummy, easy vegetarian sandwich, works for me! I did a striped peel on the eggplant, then lowered my broiler rack because I think it would have burned within the 10 minutes. I served it with provolone on wheat bread, that's what was on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was great. Very important to sweat the eggplant first. I grilled mine on a george foreman, added grilled red peppers and alfalfa sprouts! This is my new go to veggie sandwich, thank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This sandwhich is quick & easy to make. Since I love eggplant, I double layered my eggplants. I also used wheat roll. Great with soup and/or chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These were really really good. Very close to the UCI sandwiches they were modeled after. Easy too. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
You have to know how to handle eggplant. I placed slices on a cookie sheet and salted both sides and let them sit for at least 30 minutes. Then I took highly absorbent papertowel(youll need alot) and I pressed the eggplant between the paper towel with my palms. I wouldnt recommend over pressing because It does shrink the size of the eggplant alot and I preffer a little juiciness. But if you want them really meaty press itall out. I just salt them and eat them as a snack. I even chopped some the next morning and added it to some acrambled eggs covered in Mozzerella. You can pretty much use eggplant in place of meat in anything. In the summer I cut it in strips lengthwise and brush w/olive oil and chaopped garlic and grill it as a side dish. The possibility's are endless just dont forget to do the salt and sweat first. Good Basic Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angielovesdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States