Eggplant Rounds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
the outcome was incredibly greasy - not a fan, however, the cornmeal mixture has potential, I might use it for my catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I used panko instead of cornmeal. The flavor was good but you definitely need eggs to make the breading stick. Also, as others mentioned the eggplant really soaked up the oil when fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ridgway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kersey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I used garlic salt instead of regular salt. Wow, it packed a punch adn drew out the flavours. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I used olive oil, instead of veggie oil. I added flour and not just cornmeal and seasoning salt instead of chilli powder and oregano. It was a hit. I also caramelized an onion and served them with that on top as a side to spaghetti and marinara. So tasty. Hubby and I couldn't get enough, but the kids were too nervous about the egg part of eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarefootMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Missing some flavor, but tasty when paired with tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MermaidSmoothie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I usually use bread crumbs but the cornmeal gave it an interesting flavor with a crisper coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is a good recipe, but you should dip the sliced eggplant in whisked eggs before you dip it in the cornmeal, ect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very oily! I will try baking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe. I embellished the recipe by brushing them with olive oil and used Panko bread crumbs instead of cornmeal and baked on parchment paper @ 400 for 20 minutes, turning after 10. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
We Grilled them and followed the recipe to a T. No flavor, not enough seasoning, should have used olive oil or egg to make the seasoning stick. Should not have used cornmeal at all on the grill. Fried it may have been ok, but the idea of using this recipe on the grill is completely bogus. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States