Eggplant Rollatini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I was really looking forward to this dish. I made it without the prosciutto which is probably why I didn't think that it was great. Besides omitting the prosciutto, I made the recipe as it indicated and it was just too bland for me. As another reviewer stated... it was "quite a lot of effort for fairly minimal results". I wouldn't say fairly minimal though... more like "just OK" results. I think that I may have another go at it though and use some seasoning and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
OMG - so very good. I'm sure it is excellent made the way the recipe calls but I changed to accomodate my veggie husband. Instead of frying I baked and sprinkled with EVOO. Instead of pancetta I rolled two veggie meatballs in the middle. They stayed together perfectly and the texture was perfect. I also used 2% ricotta. We bothed loved it. HOMERUN RECIPE and better than Eggplant Parm! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly (except for using non-fat ricotta) and it was delicious! My parents and fiancé both loved it. One thing - 14 ounces of sauce was a little light, next time I'll have more ready on standby for those who like more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
My 5 yr old son asked what an eggplant is and what it tastes like. I couldn't really tell him because I'd never had one. So we went to the store and he picked one out. I searched allrecipes for a popular recipe and came across this one. I was skeptical at first. I even prayed that it would turn out good. :) It was REALLY good. I didn't have any of that funky Italian meat so I used really thin sliced smoked ham. And I used panko bread crumbs instead of traditional bread crumbs (because I can get panko in natural). I also sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on right before the mozzarella. This was kinda time consuming, but totally worth it. My son even ate it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raspberry_waffles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Awesome! I agree with 3 of the major suggestions: (1) de-bitterize the eggplant for 30 minutes by putting salt generously and letting it drain out, (2) Ricotta Mix: Didn't use meat - sautead spinach and garlic and then mixed it in ricotta mix. I also spiced up the mix - the spicier the better. I only had Frank's red hot but I would use Sriracha or chili peppers. (3) No need to fry the eggplant - just broil it 5-6 minutes each side when you put all the mix. This dish was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was very easy and quite tasty. I added a lil of the mozzarella to the inside of the roll-up and rather than prosciutto grilled a sausage on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Delicious! Made it on the fly without time to run to grocery store, so substituted pepperoni slices for the filler. YUM! Whole family loved it, even the toddlers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This recipe is pretty great! The only thing, is that I made my own sauce, rather than using spaghetti sauce in a jar. It has a much better taste on the eggplant AND pasta, rather than tasting synthetic. Another thing, I allowed the eggplant slices to sweat out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and love it. Like others, I sweated the eggplant, broiled instead of fried, and added spinach and garlic to the ricotta. This time I also added pesto, which I think was a great addition. I forgot to put in the salt and pepper in the ricotta like I usually do, and it was a noticeable difference. I'll remember it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I love eggplant....and my son and I are not fussy eaters but we didn't like this at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States