Eggplant Rollati Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I changed this a bit by putting in a 13 x 9 and topping with spag. sauce and mozzerella and baking for 35 min. at 350 deg. WOW was this awsome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Hines

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahS
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I changed this quite a bit. Before I cooked the eggplant I laid out the slices on paper towels and sprinkled them with some salt, to help release moisture, for a few minutes. After they were cooked, I laid a piece of prosciutto on it, then the ricotta mixture (to which I added some parmesan and mozzarella), then rolled it up and secured it with a toothpick. I put them on a platter with a small bowl of the tomato sauce in the middle. This way, it was a neat appetizer and people could dip or spoon the tomato sauce on if they wanted it. It turned out very tasty and I will probably make it again with the same adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
This recipe is fabulous! I use pre-breaded eggplant cutlets form the local Italian store which cuts the difficulty to almost nothing. You won't be disappointed and neither will your guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
This appetizer turned out alright. I think it would help if the recipe was a bit more specific on how to put the rollatis together. The process for me was quite messy and annoying. The actual taste was very rich, so if you're looking for a neutral appetizer...this isn't it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
These are a nice change from pasta but might be laking something. I added spinach to the filling which did help. I will make this again but probably add some garlic to the filling and maybe more herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I made the eggplant ahead of time so it was cool enough to roll up. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
flavor was good but i found these hard to roll up and not as pretty as i wanted them to be. added some ital seasoning to the ricotta- would be a good veggie lasagna or side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I was testing this appetizer which i plan to serve on chirstmas day.. i basically added more than what is in the original recipe... i added italian herbs and also chicken strip which is really good especially for the meat lovers.... my hubby suggested to not forget this on christmas day....with two thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Like the first reviewer, I changed this recipe into a main dish. I'm afraid this would be a bit messy as an appetizer! I also added parmesan and garlic to the ricotta filling, for added flavour. To save time, use frozen grilled eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is actually VERY tasty. It really just depends on your specific taste as to how many things this recipe is missing, made the way it is is just fine for me. I think choosing a rounder eggplant would help on the rolling end, and it works just fine as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States