Eggplant Pasta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
It was really good. Had made a few changes based on what available in the kitchen.... Did not use the vegetarian burger crumbles, Used french fried onion in the middle layer and on the top, used 1 pound of pasta (didn't think the half pound was enough for my round dish) and added 1/2 cup extra of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was a solid recipe. I didn't find it to be bland as some reviewers stated. I did use a generous amount of fresh garlic in the sofrito, as well as some dried basil. Added some goat cheese to the white sauce and skipped the mozzarella, as I felt that the goat cheese would make it more flavorful. I realized last minute that I didn't have enough penne pasta and had to sub out spaghetti, but that worked. Topped it with a bit of fresh grated pecorino romano. This dish had interesting flavors and was an enjoyable and different vegetarian dish. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made this last night for my vegetarian wife. We both enjoyed it and will make it again. I made the recipe exactly as written but like some other reviewers I think I will add more eggplant and some herbs and spices to taste. Thanks for a yummy dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
So, I had to change a few things because I live in a place where things like vegetarian burger crumbles don't exist and because my oven cooks at a steady 600+ degrees... 1) Since I don't have vegetarian burger crumbles, I just left them out all together. Maybe it tastes better with them, but it was still quite good without them. 2) I can't afford olive oil in this country but sunflower oil did just fine. 3) Ancho chili peppers don't exist here so I used a central-asian spicy pepper. I don't think I'll do this again because I didn't feel like the spice really added anything to the dish but I will add a second red pepper for a bit more of that flavor. 3) I didn't have mozzarella cheese but another melt-able white cheese was substituted and tasted great. Overall, the recipe was good but it did come out bland, as another reviewer mentioned. When I make it again, this is what I will do differently: 1) I will cut the eggplant to be about 1/8 inch thick and probably use a second eggplant. 2) When baking the eggplant, I will put pieces of garlic inside the eggplant slices and put butter with a sprinkle of salt on top. 3) I will salt and season the white sauce to taste and make a little extra to mix with the pasta. 4) I will mix some white sauce and cheese with the pasta before putting it in the dish to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Made this last night it was good but bland. I used leftover turkey burgers from the night before istead of veggie burgers. I was looking for another way to use eggplant besides parmesan, so I will do this recipe again only next time use some garlic and fresh herbs to give it a little more flavor. I really liked the white sauce and my kids liked it, I don't think they knew they were eating eggplant...sshh.. don't tell:-}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
WOW! This was so yummy. It's hard to believe that it is a vegetarian dish. I made a few changes..I used Smart Balance, fat free milk, and whole grain pasta..which made it even more figure friendly. Also, the serving size is HUGE! I would take a big piece of this over a tiny piece of lasagna ANY day of the week! This is worth the time and effort :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyzBebaH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I followed the recipe and it came out a bit bland. I will definitely add some spices to the red pepper/onion mixture next time. And as another review said, don't let the white sauce thicken, cook until creamy and it will thicken as it bakes. My husband said he liked it, so I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Hubby says 3.5 stars. I followed the recipe {{mostly}} with 1 small change. I added fresh basil and parsley to the red pepper mixture. Still somewhat bland and almost boring. It takes a lot of time to make, for an ordinary no raves dinner. Probably will not make again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was very good, we did not have the chili pepper though. We added 1 can diced tomatoes and 1/2 tsp each of basil and oregano. Will make again and maybe add spinach for more color :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Rizzo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I made this recipe last night. And, of course, like many people, I made a few changes but, only because I didn't have an ingredient. I used a green bell pepper instead of a red one since I didn't have it. I also had a little left over ricotta and put that in the layer inbetween the cream sauce and the pasta. Despite my changes, it came out very good. When I make this again (yes, it was that good) I will use the red bell pepper because I think it would add a little sweetness to the recipe and also add a little less onion. I used the amt as stated and it was just a little too overpowering. Also, some of us are used to thickening our white sauce. Don't do it. Follow the recipe, it thickens while it bakes. And, I don't think the ricotta made a whole lotta difference but, if I had extra, I would still add it again. If I didn't, it wouldn't be missed. Enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States