Eggplant Parmigiana Caponata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I made this last night and OMG at first I thought it was too vinegary but after a few bites I couldn't stop eating it! Like many others I left out the sugar and the capers and anchiovies but I will try them next time. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raechel Teasdale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
My husband & I really loved this recipe. I used veggies freshly picked from the garden, which I'm sure added to its excellence. I made some fairly minor changes - used fresh tomatoes (it's summer, after all), green peppers as that's what we had. I added about 1/4 c. or more raisins soaked in water and 1/4 c sliced olives, which I pulsed in the food processor together with the anchovies. I did not add salt, as I thought the cheeses would be salty enough. Although the recipe was quite time consuming, it was worth it! My husband was ecstatic and said we can have it as often as I like! Note to some previous reviewers - it is a pity to eliminate the capers and anchovies - after chopping them finely, they vanish into the dish and just add a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Very good...great for vegetarians out there. It really does use a lot of oil, though and I needed even more than called for to saturate the eggplant and saute the peppers. I also cut the brown sugar by half and used dried oregano. Anchovies and capers added a nice salty touch to the other very sweet elements. I served over penne. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
after a rocky start... i enjoyed making this for my wife on mothers day... she helped prep and i was the chef...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Very good and makes a pretty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilkinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I'm glad I tried this recipe with the capers and anchovies! I just added a little bit at a time, and found that I used the amounts suggested in the recipe. Also, as others suggested, I went easy on the sugar and vinegars, adding only a tablespoon at a time until it tasted the way we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Loved it! I'm not a fan of capers or anchovies so I omitted them, but it is fabulous without them and will definitely be part of my regular rotation. Because I omitted the saltiness that capers/anchovies would have added I also made a cut to the amount of brown sugar so that it wasn't too sweet. Thanks for the recipe, I'm so happy I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
The sauce is delicious and I and used over eggplant rollatine instead of the original eggplant recipe provided. The vinegars & anchovies made it very tasty but I cut down the amount of brown sugar as I found it too be a bit too sweet 1st time around. It is one of our favorite pasta sauces now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is great dish. the sauce is amazing. I used fontina cheese because I didn't have mozzarella. Family loved it and they don't normally like eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States