Eggplant Parmesan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
does anyone think this could be all prepared ahead of time and put in the oven later in the day?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Made this last night and WOW! Other than baking my eggplant slices for 10 minutes each side, I followed the directions as written and my husband and I both LOVED it (that's saying something for me who doesn't eat a lot of vegetables)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kloubird
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Turned out wonderful! Did salt, rinse and dry eggplant. Baked eggplant on cookie sheet for 10 mins on each side and think I would've done it even longer. All the added advice was very useful in making this and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Ummm, this is amazing! My husband who never eats eggplant had a huge helping, and then called his mother to rave about it. I did sweat the eggplant b/c I had some time, but no idea if that is essential to do so. I did alter recipe like others, and had to bake my eggplant about 10 minutes per side in a 450 oven. I also sprayed breaded eggplant slices with a good quality olive oil spray. It helps crisp the eggplant up. I used 2 eggplants from my garden and it made three layers just fine. I found I needed 4 eggs for the wash (not 2), and used only 2 cups of breadcrumbs mixed with parm cheese. I thought the 4 cups looked like too much. I didn't measure any cheese but I know I used more than the 1 lb mozz cheese called for here, just sort of did what looked right, also added in a cheese blend of provolone, asiago and some others. Whatever cheese you use, make sure it is high quality here, it will make a difference. I used Trader Joe's marinara sauce (my favorite) but use whatever sauce you want. I did bake the casserole for the time specified, and it came out perfect. I have zero leftovers so making again this week! Thank god I am growing eggplant. Thank you Doery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Fabulous! I used the consistent hints from previous reviewers, but cooked the eggplant exactly as directed by the previous reviewer. Best eggplant recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty MacDuff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAKS
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Easy, amazing and delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I've been on a spree to try out new and varied veggies with my family and, in that vein, I decided to try this recipe after reviewing this and several other eggplant recipes on this site. Now that I've made it, I must say that the end product is delicious and I recommend it to anyone and *especially* if you like eggplant. My wife, who detests eggplant, even ate and said that it was pretty good the second day (we liked it even better as leftovers the second day). My two girls wouldn't touch it, unfortunately. They view all kinds of veggies with suspicion and I think that it carried over to this. That, coupled with my wife telling them how bad eggplant was really did this recipe in for them. Excluding the personal drama at home, I definitely recommend this recipe. The eggplant came out perfect after baking and I could have eaten it up right then. Adding in the sauce and cheese just made it all that much better. I'm giving it 3 stars because of how the rest of the family took to it but if I were rating it based solely on my experience I'd give it 4.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
AMAZING! The first eggplant from my garden and the best I've ever had. My bf loved it, and he hated eggplant because whenever he tried it, it was slimy and soft. This was firm and so flavorful. My 7-year-old son ate a whole slice before anything else on his plate and then said yummy! I made the recipe exactly as shown, might try the weeping next time to see the difference. I will be making this a lot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was delicious! I even made it wrong! I didn't buy enough eggplant for the layers but it still turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Soooo good!!!! My husband and I loved this recipe. I only made a third of it cause I had only one eggplant but it was enough for the both of us to eat for two meals. Only a few changes. I let my eggplant sit salted for a half hour then rinsed and dried. Cooked about a half of a pound of ground beef to add to the sauce. I didn't have any basil so that was omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,044) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States