Eggplant Parmesan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
AWESOMELY GOOD! Ok I'm literally in the middle of making this but had to share my success. This has excellent taste! I have never tried to prepare eggplant although eggplant parmesan is my fav at the restaurant...not anymore! I'll make this at home healthier and cheaper! Taking several bits of advice from previous reviews this is how I did it. 1) Sweat the 1/4" slices by sprinkling with sea salt and letting sit for 30 min. Rinse, pat dry w/paper towel (get good & dry) 2) Dip slices into beaten eggs and coat in gallon sized ziploc bag for easy cleaner breading. I used seasoned bread crumbs and tossed in about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese. 3)Place on baking sheet coated with EVOO then bake for 7 min at 450, flip and bake add'l 5-7 mins depending on how crisp you like it (mine were nice a crisp @ 7 min per side) 4) At this point I am eating the slices as is with a fork and they are great! I will be placing them on angel hair pasta and covering with homemade sauce and cheese then baking just to melt it all together. It's wonderful! I plan to try freezing extra slices after they come out of the oven, but before mixing with anything for next time I get a craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG42200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This recipe is worthy of more than 5 stars. Baking the eggplant instead of frying does not take away from the flavor of the dish one bit. It does, however, need to bake longer than stated. I baked mine for about 20 minutes until it was lightly browned. Also, I chose to sweat the eggplant before breading by peeling, slicing, sprinkling with sea salt and placing in a collander in the sink for about 30 minutes. This pulls out any bitterness. Just be sure to rinse it well with water and pat dry with paper towels before breading. I did two layers of eggplant. You can layer however you like, you just to be sure the top layer of eggplant is topped with sauce and then cheese. This is my husband's favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2653 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
This dish turned out quite well - my boyfriend and I both want to make it again. However, 3 eggplants was way too much - next time I will use a good medium sized one and a smaller one. I salted each slice and let it sit for twenty minutes before rinsing in cold water, as per another suggestion, and then found that 2 1/2 cups of breads crumbs and two eggs sans yolks were plenty to cover all the eggplant slices. However, the slices definitely needed to be cooked a little longer than five minutes on a side - next time I might try cooking ten minutes a side. Over all, though, a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Positively LOVE this! Have made it several times already. I DO salt the eggplant first, and dip slices in just egg whites only-- no need for the extra fat in the yolks; bake slices 10 min per side; I use healthy choice garlic lovers sauce. One medium eggplant and about 1/2 of a 26 oz jar of sauce seems to be a perfect amount for me and hubby with leftovers for another whole dinner. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
845 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
Excellent! I scaled this down for 3 servings and ended up using 3 eggs as well as 2 cups of bread crumbs. I made my own "italian" version by adding garlic powder, oregano, 2 tbs parmesan, salt, pepper and paprika. I followed some of the reviewer's advice and baked the eggplant for 10 minutes on each side. I recommend everyone do this as the eggplant was just cooked. I also sliced the eggplant to 1/4 inch slices as we don't like them too thin. My husband gave this a 10 out of a 5 :-). For those of you whose eggplant sticks to the pan without oiling your baking sheet, try parchment paper. ITS EXCELLENT! You don't have to use anything to grease your pans and nothing sticks. You can also reuse it. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
824 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen Ayala Simmons
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Recipe needed a little manipulation but it turned out so good. I added spinach and used Muir glen tomatos. My husband and preschooler loved it. I am giving this recipe 5 stars just because it is a great way to experiment and encourage you to try cooking with eggplant (wich is great and yummy). I read most of the reviews before starting out. The most common problems seemed to be the texture of the eggplant after cooking (undercooking) and the bitterness? (Not really an issue). So I sliced these very very Thinly, about a quarter of an inch. Salting eggplant to remove bitterness didn't make sense to me because salt will induce osmosis and draw out water which you need to keep the flesh plump. You do not want a withered eggplant. I did my own test and it seemed that the part between the skin and flesh was the most bitter? so I just peeled it more deeply and let it sit in fresh cold water for 15 minutes. The eggplant was not bitter at all. But I think that may also have to do with the variety of eggplant available to you. So try a different variety if your eggplant is really bitter. Finally after cooking my dish for 30 minutes the flesh was still chewy so I had to let it cook for an additional 30 minutes. At this point the eggplant had a great texture. So either the cooking temperature or the time frame was off. So other than these minor setbacks, The meal was really good, it was like an eggplant lasagna. Thanks for the recipe I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
532 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ayala Simmons
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Wonderful recipe! However, I did use some of the suggestions mentioned in some of the other reviews. I used 2 good sized eggplants instead of 3. To remove the bitterness, I salted the eggplant and let it sit for 20-30 minutes and then rinsed with cold water. And I baked it for 10 minutes on each side. Came out great. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
397 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
This was a very good, easy and healthy version of this dish. I did salt my eggplant first for about 20 min, and let stand in colander in the sink..then rinsed it well w/ cold water - it takes the bitterness out of the eggplant. I used Italian breadcrumbs and added some garlic pepper to them. My family loved it, and no frying!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
331 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Delicious! I baked my eggplant for about 10 minutes without turning it over and then turned the oven off and let the eggplant sit for about 30 minutes in the warm oven. It came out perfect. Just don't forget to peel the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This recipe was excellent (just as good as frying!!!) and so much healthier, too. I par-boiled the eggplant slices (not sliced too thin or else they will not hold together)for about 1-2 minutes (no longer or else the slices will be too soft and fall apart)in salted, boiling water (in a large pan so water can circulate around the slices)before dipping and breading them. Drain well after rinsing in cold water. Let slices sit on paper towel to dry also. I find that this "pre-cooking" makes the eggplant nice and soft in the center instead of hard and /spongy. (It won't absorb half as much oil when frying it if you cook it that way instead of using this recipe.) I used Italian seaoned bread crumbs. I found that I needed about five or six eggs instead of two. I baked the breaded slices on cookie sheets coated with "Pam" in a pre-heated 375 degree oven for 10 minutes on each side side, too. This was time consuming, but, well worth it. I used an Italian blend of cheese instead of just mozzerella. I would say it serves 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,007) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States