Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was my first try at an eggplant parm and it was delicious! My only suggestion would be to amp up the flavors a bit with some garlic and pepper. I actually had no ricotta and substituted with small-curd cottage cheese and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very good recipe -- nice change from how we usually cook it. Some might want to peel the eggplant first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was WAY better than I thought it would be. For some reason I thought I would need to double the recipe for just the 4 of us and it was WAY too much. But still very delicious. I did follow the other reviews and breaded the eggplant before frying it. And I didn't notice the fresh basil when I went shopping so I just used a little basil seasoning. I also think we used a little too much sauce on ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This was very good. Even my husband who doesn't like eggplant ate this and said it was good. I did use a mixture of mozzarella and cheddar cheese because I did not have enough mozzarella and it turned out great. Also added some fresh garlic and onion powder to the eggplant while browning in the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Delicious delicious! This was very easy and my friends loved it. I didn't have ricotta cheese at hand so I substituted with extra soft tofu and no one realized until I said anything. I wish I had leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was awesome! I have never cooked eggplant before and was very nervous cooking this for my Italian husband (who cooks very well) lol ... But this was a hit! I am totally making this hopefully one a week. The only thing I did differently, was I added more ricotta & mozzarella cheese than stated. (We are cheese lovers here) Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I first want to say that it tastes really good. That being said, it's all sauce! I feel like I made a creamy spaghetti sauce and stirred a little eggplant in. I actually cooked some pasta so I could use up all the excess sauce. I only used 3 cups of sauce and I probably could have used half of that and it would have been fine. If I make this again, I think I will add lasagna noodles to the pan, or at least double the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I cut the eggplant very thinly (about 1/4 in) then "browned" them in a non-stick skillet of medium-high heat for about 3 minutes per side (they don't necessarily brown though...just soften). Then I sauteed two summer squashes with one onion until soft, but not mushy. I added three cloves minced garlic toward the end. Then I layered sauce, eggplant, cheese mixture, squash and onion, sauce... Then topped with lots of mozzarella and parm cheese. It was a hit! My two year old and husband even really enjoyed this 'no pasta lasagna'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great recipe! I'm not fond of eggplant, but this was really good & made even better using my homemade tomato sauce. Liked that the eggplant wasn't breaded and then fried before layering into the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
The taste was really good. The fresh basil was really nice. You need to use a big eggplant cut into big pieces. I think next time, I will use a little less sauce, but it really tasted great. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States