Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Very good. This was my first time making eggplant parmesan. I'm trying to explore new avenues for plant-based vegetarian foods. This was very good. MY husband liked it very much, and my 2 yr. old devoured it. My 3, 6, and 8 year olds weren't as receptive, but I think they'd eat it again since all of it was eaten. I cut down on the sauce since my eggplant was small, and omitted the basil. Would definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I followed the general concept of this recipe, but breaded the eggplant before frying it. Turned out amazing. My daughter couldn't get enough and I felt it was better than my regular lasagna I make with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I can only give this 4 stars because the recipe itself is tastey but comes out a little soupy and kind of a mess. I changed it to fit my needs by doing adding crumbed sausage, using 16oz cottage cheese with 3 eggs, and adding to it fresh garlic, parsely, basil, a small amount of bread crumbs and olives. This made it solidify and be more lazagna-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Very good--4.5. I let the eggplant sweat for about an hour, breaded it and cooked it in a pan for a few minutes each side, using cooking spray and very little oil. I also mixed some prepared garlic (about 2 cloves) in the cheese mixture. Next time I will use more eggplant and maybe cut it a little thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I can't get enough of this dish! Hearty but not heavy. Last time I made it was when my parents were in town and my dad acted like it was the best thing he's eaten since I left home over 10 years ago. I agree that it's a great side or main dish. I eat it plain or served over a bed of pasta. My only improvement is I throw in cottage cheese if I have any but it is still great without it. Would be good with spinach, broccoli, or grated carrots added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I've tried lots of recipes from this web site and this might be the very, very best. Certainly the best of the eggplant parmesan recipes. I live in Moscow and don't have access to ricotta - cottage cheese actually worked just fine. We will have this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I too would not have rated this recipe highly based on the original version. I used far more eggplant; once breading it and once parboiling, drying, and frying in non-stick spray. The second time I used provalone cheese on the top, along with the remaining parmesan. Once the dish was cooked I moved the rack up and bubbled the cheese by broiling it a couple of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Sorry but I still like my own recipe much better. I'm more of a just plain mozzarella kind of a guy. Never did care for ricotta. The only thing I got out of this to make my own recipe better was to use the fresh chopped basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I make this with fresh eggplant every year- my roommates look forward to it and ask when I am going to make it! I bread and fry the eggplant so it has some crisp to it- but the ricotta cheese makes it taste so decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I gave this 4 stars but with the changes I made I think it deserves 5 stars. *I breaded & fried the eggplant slices (dredge in flour, dip in egg and coat with bread crumbs). *I used meat sauce (ground beef fried and added to your favorite sauce). *I used parmesan cheese with the ricotta mixture and mozzarella on top. This rivals the best dishes I've had at Italian restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States