Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Really, really good. The only thing that I did differently is that I dipped the eggplant in egg and flour and dipped in Italian bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I will never, ever again bread my eggplant. This recipe tops all other efforts I have made. It is without a doubt the best I have made and I have thrown out all past recipes. This one stays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Day

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is yummy. I make it at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania Stuart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Flavor is great but +1 on being too soupy. I'm going to use the left overs as a sauce on some Rotini pasta. I added some grilled onion and garlic. Would have added some oregano but couldn't find it, added salt and pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
As someone that's never had eggplant before, I figured I'd give this a shot. My only concern is that I have a ton of sauce and I feel like it's a bit of a waste because my eggplant slices are kind of drowning. I think next time I'll lighten up on that aspect and try again. It's very delicious otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cchellez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sandston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was amazing. Eating dishes like this make it easy to be a vegetarian! Finding a meal without meat that my family enjoys is such a blessing. Night after night I make separate dishes for my meat eating family but after finding this, it makes one meal a bit easier. Even my husband (who is dead SET on eating meat) enjoyed it! My picky 20 month old ate his whole plate. It's a satisfying meal when you can enjoy a meatless meal with your family! *After trying to make this meal a few times, I realized that baking the eggplant wasn't cooking the bread crumbs enough. They were still somewhat "soggy" so I fried them in Light Olive Oil until brown (as you would when making chicken parmesan), gave it better flavor and a nice crisp breading. I recommend this meal to anyone who wants to break the cycle and try something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I actually peeled and sliced this lengthwise to replace noodles for lasagna feel - it made spreading the cheese much easier. I also did not fry the eggplant. I used cottage cheese and egg, parmesan and mozz for the cheese filling. Layered and baked for 45 minutes. Broil for 5 minutes to get that nice brown cheese and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is so very, very good. As others have said, it's a lot like a pasta-less lasagna, and that's perfectly fine for me. Nothing wrong with pasta, but it's a bit too heavy and best saved for special occasions. This, however, is actually pretty light and can satisfy your hunger without making you feel like you just ate a cinder block made of flour. This has made it into my weekly rotation, too. The cheese, depending on how you buy it, can last for two or three preparations which means you only have to buy the eggplant over (don't keep them more than a week. Ew.), so in all it's a very cost-effective meal. It's just my boyfriend and me, too, so for us one prep means a stack of two slices per serving. So one dinner and a bunch of leftovers for lunch to take to work, which brings me to the next great thing about this: it reheats beautifully! A couple things, however: I find that sweating the eggplant for an hour instead of half an hour leads to a much better flavor (and if you're new to eggplant, this really is not a step you can skip). When I brown the eggplant, I use A LOT less oil. Maybe a couple tablespoons. To each their own, but eggplant is super absorbant and it's far too easy to get disgusting, greasy slices. Experiment, I guess. Also, I use my own homemade sauce. I imagine using storebought sauce would lead to a much heavier meal as most of those are laden with corn syrup for bulking and preserving. But again, to each their own. I'm sure it's phenomenal, regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I didn't have any ricotta cheese on hand so I subbed it with tofu. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States