Eggplant Parmesan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I rarely look forward to leftovers but I did with this dish. It was wonderful! I didn't have ricotta, but I just substituted sour cream. A note about the olive oil, don't keep adding more. The amount for the recipe is sufficient. If you keep adding more you are going to end up with very oily eggplant. Mine was fine, but I know from prior experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hendrickson
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Amaziiiiiiiing! Use organic coconut oil to fry eggplant! That way u can add xtra coconut oil and not worry about what soaks in since coconut oil is very healthy for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Ghenwa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Quite tasty. I've made this a couple of times. I love eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizette McKinley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Loved it..made a couple of changes.. no ricotta around so I used cottage cheese. I also added slices of potatoes, seasoned both layers with salt and pepper and voila..delic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Loved it. And one of the first times I cooked eggplant. Yikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Waltz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I will definitely try this recipe again. As it was a last minute decision I did not have the cheese on hand and substituted with goat cheese and cheddar. Also the pasta sauce contained basil but I didn't have fresh basil on hand. However it was still delicious so I imagine next time with the correct ingredients will be even better. Also as per some comments I also dipped the eggplant in egg and then breadcrumbs. Only negative is that that it uses alot of oil for frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
We really enjoyed this dish. An easier and lower fat / calorie way to precook the eggplant is to spray it with oil or brush a little on, then put it under the broiler until it browns. Turn the slices and repeat oiling and broiling. I've never found it necessary to rub with salt first. I also substitute cottage cheese, whizzed in the food processor for the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Useful info from this site regarding prepping eggplant: If you choose to salt your eggplant, first slice or cube it, and then salt generously, allowing the fruit to sit in a colander for at least an hour, preferably longer. Salted eggplant can sit purging for hours without harming the taste or texture. BUT...before cooking the eggplant, be sure to rinse the salt off well. THEN place the slices between sheets of paper towel and press gently to remove juices and firm the flesh. This is particularly important when frying your eggplant slices or cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is a great recipe. However there were a few big changes I needed to make. 1) unless you get an unusually large eggplant, you will likely need to have 3 eggplant or slice MUCH thinner than 3/4-inch. You won't have 2 layers unless you do this. Plus, I can't imagine feeding 8 people on one eggplant. 2) eggplant soaks up oil when it is fried, so you will need A LOT more than 8 Tbs. 3) peel the eggplant. The skin on an eggplant is kind of tough. 4) I added 2 cloves of garlic. It just seemed like basil wasn't enough. That change is optional, but the first three aren't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My family and I did not like this recipe at all. I am giving it 2 stars on the basis that we were able to eat it the night I made it. What a shame to waste the time and money. Here's what I found wrong: First off, 1 eggplant was not nearly enough to make more than 1 layer in a 13 x 9 pan. I used a HUGE eggplant that weighed at least 2-3 pounds and it still only gave me 1-1/2 layers. Second, as others have pointed out, the eggplant took such a long time to brown (at least 20 minutes for this step alone, which makes the prep time in the recipe off) and soaked up every bit of the olive oil to where I had to add more for each batch to brown (more than the 8 Tbs called for in the recipe). This in turn made the eggplant goopy and oily. Gross! Lastly, there was too much sauce. The end result was hard to serve, a goopy, saucy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States