Eggplant Mixed Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
fabulous!! I grilled them in a grill basket which made it very easy. Make a big batch because this is great cold, too. A winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This is the best marinade I've found for roasted or grilled veggies. The suggested veggies can easily be substituted with your own favorites. We tried it with zucchini, yellow squash, bell pepper, crimini mushrooms and tomato. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
What a terrific and versatile recipe! I've been making an effort to eat better, so I searched for a new way to make veggies. They were awesome! I used eggplant, zucchini, green bell pepper, vidalia onion and sliced roma tomatoes. I didn't have fresh herbs, so I used one tsp. each of dried oregano, basil and parsley. I only had two small cloves of garlic, so I used them with some garlic powder. I also added a little white sugar. I used a grill basket and it worked out perfectly. I served the veggies with marinated grilled salmon and they complemented eachother perfectly! The only problem was that the eggplant looked very unappetizing...it turned a brown-black color, but it tasted fine. It must be something I did. I will definately make this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
My husband made this dish with grilled tuna fillets and tiger prawn shrimp. He made asparagus, red & yellow bell peppers, baby portabella mushrooms, red onions, and eggplant. Instead of grilling, he sauted them in a huge wok....you'll need a really big pan if you use the original portion scale. Anyway we both loved how it turned out. Like one of the other reviewers, the eggplant did turn black while cooking. It wasn't very appealing to look at but it was probably the most flavorful eggplant i've ever had. We'll definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merbear024

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Wonderful and flavorful! This recipe was a huge success with my parents who have dietary concerns...they asked for the recipe to make for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe! It was easy and flavorful! I grilled the veggies in a grilling pan, it made it much easier for me. Also, if you follow the recipe exactly, you are making a very large portion of veggies. I served 12 people, and still had leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
It was a huge hit for the 4th bbq. Next time I will add more eggplants since they soak up the marinade so well and are absolutely delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I tried this recipe "as is" and it was wonderful! I was a little worried that there wouldn't be enough oil and vinegar, but by the time it had all marinated for two hours it was perfect. The fresh herbs were great, a wonderful way to cook fresh veggies in the summer! Definitely need a grill basket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This recipe name should be changed to "Veggie Mixed Grill" - it's a great marinade for any vegetables that you can grill. I used summer squash, zucchini, sweet onion, broccoli and red pepper and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I had to use some dried herbs (1 TBSP each) for the marinade and increased the quantity of eggplant in place of the other vegetables. The marinade was so dry that I had to rub it on the slices instead of just letting it sit. After about an hour and a half I cooked a small batch. The smell was wonderful! But the taste was very, very bland and the eggplant was dry. I let it sit for a full day before cooking the rest and it became succulent and flavorful. But it still didn't quite live up to that incredible smell....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States