Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
The preparation of the eggplant makes all the difference. I've tried other eggplant lasagna recipes, and they were disappointing. The eggplant was either overdry and tough or gooey. In either case, it stood out and didn't "pass" as well for pasta. I prefer to peel the eggplant and slice it lengthwise into strips the approximate width of a lasagna noodle. Start with the strips a little wider than the size you wish them to be, as they will shrink in the over. Other than using eggplant instead of noodles, you can follow your own lasagna recipe. I like to mix thawed, chopped frozen spinach (which has been COMPLETELY drained and squeezed dry) into ricotta (or cottage) cheese, along with an egg and some shredded parmesan, to use as one of the layers. I also like using Sargento's 6-cheese Italian better than straight mozzarella. Less stringy and more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was so good I made my own seasoned bread crumbs and added garlic and onions to the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I will not change the ingredients but would recommend changing some of the portions. I gues it depend on the size of the eggplant though. My family love cheze. I ended up using about 2lbs of gr bef and about 6 cups of cheese all day. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Great recipe! Huband -who is new to eggplant loved it. So its a great intro for people unframilar to eggplant. But watch that eggplant when your baking eggplant slices the oven I would cook half the time. Burn fast! But still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
A decent, base recipe. I added low fat ricotta cheese and substituted 1 lb. of sauteed, sliced mushrooms for the hamburger to make it vegetarian. I also put all of the Parmesan cheese on top, rather than in the breading mix, to increase the "baked," crusty, cheesy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
D-lish! I made a half batch of this the night before and popped it into the oven for about 20-25min (a little extra time since it started cold), until it was bubbly. It turned out Great. The flavors melded well and even my picky kids ate some. We'll definitely have this again. Half batch was plenty for us 2 adults and 2 kids ages 3 & 18mo.. We still had enough to take for lunch the next day for both adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is a wonderful dish! And my family loves eggplant cooked this way so much that now I don't even bother putting the lasagna together - they eat the eggplant up before I can assemble!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Awesome! I loved the way the eggplant was prepared and so did my kids!! I pulsed some onion, squash, and mushrooms (whatever I had in the fridge) in the processor and added it to the beef. It is a dish I feel good about serving to my family and they absolutely loved it! We now call it 'Sneaky Lasagna' since it is packed full of vegetables, but tastes like traditional lasagna, only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
First time I have tried egg plant. Not bad........ I did make a few things, some of it to clean out my fridge. Cut the egg plant thicker than 1/2", probably around 3/4". Made the egg plant coating but used just enough to coat the slices. Used the balance to sprinkle on top of the sauce on each layer. With the sauce, added hot Italian sausage, some chorizo, and I had some tomatoes that were getting soft, (approx 4), so I chopped them, chunky, and added those as well. I also chopped up some mushrooms that I also had left over from another dish. Added, parsley, italian seasoning, and salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Loved it! Made a half batch for two of us- had plenty of leftovers! I used a jar of Bertolli marinara (highly recommend) mixed in with the meat. Only cooked for 15 minutes on first side and 10 after I flipped (olive oil on pan toasted the flipped side)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States