Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I have been making this recipe for over a year now and the whole family loves it! I don't quite use two whole eggplants, probably 1 1/2. I also brown hot Italian turkey sausage in place of the beef and it gives it a healthy and delicious taste! Instead of flipping the eggplant, I turn the broiler on and it gets the job done. A must try, even for those who aren't in love with eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEDGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Wonderful!! I subbed ground turkey as I'm not a big fan of ground beef and probably used about twice the breadcrumbs/cheese. If you're using 2 whole eggplants you'll probably need more as well. I also sliced lengthwise as recommended by another reviewer and found it worked really well! Delicious and my fiance loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is a delicious dish !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My whole family thoroughly enjoyed this meal. I substituted veggie crumble (meat substitute) for the beef and added the leftover breadcrumbs and Parmesan cheese into the two bottom layers. It is really like a heavy pasta sauce so I cooked some pasta to go with it. I know this might defeat the purpose of going without lasagna noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Nice healthier alternative to regular lasagna! Baking the eggplants really makes them nice and crispy....we actually snuck a few and ate them like chips! Yumm Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I did a few spins on this, but the result was outstanding. Instead of beef, i boiled and shredded chicken. I also decided to cut the eggplant lengthwise so it truly mimicked lasagna pasta. if you're not careful you can overcook the eggplant, so it's best to watch it. I also found that I had to send out for an additional jar of marinara, there wasn't enough to fill my dish so I had to add some. This dish is so good leftover, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have made eggplant lasagna using this recipe five times now. This has become a favorite in my household. Not only is it lasagna but it's also gluten-free and just good for you. I will never make regular lasagna again. I substituted the ground beef for chunks of boneless skinless chicken breast which helps to lighten the meal without removing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Varga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
If I were to do this over, I would use a quarter less sauce and prepare the eggplant differently. They were mushy, so I would probably broil for a minute or two to make more crispy. Not sure if it's worth the effort. Either make regular lasagna or eggplant parmagean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This turned out great! Thanks for the super yummy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Thank you for this awesome and creative recipe. Takes some time to prepare but well worth it. I have always enjoyed traditional lasagna, but I like it this way better. I enjoyed the leftovers as well. I did find that I didn't need the full amount of parmesan cheese and breadcrumbs....I would recommend starting with half a cup of each and adding on as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States