Eggplant con Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Decent dish although I'm not sure about the size of eggplant that's called for since they vary so much. I used Japanese eggplants and roasted them unpeeled first to maintain the nutrients. I don't use heavy cream, so I tried someone else's suggestion of sour cream and left out the flour. I also don't know what poultry seasoning is, so I used some garlic powder, chili powder, cumin and minced onion. I also only baked for 20 min since I'd already cooked the eggplant. I didn't see the point of an additional 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Very, very good. I followed many of the recommendations here, and added a bit of my own. Carmelized some onions, added a half-can of shoe-peg corn to that... added this mixture to the toast (two slices ;) and then cheese... Both of my little boys ate it, no problem. Looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INAE7997

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Although we are not great eggplant lovers-we found this dish really yummy. Even our 6yr old asked for more. Due to what I had at hand I needed to modify this recipe - using toasted Turkish bread crumbs, fried the eggplant, substituted the seasoning with Moroccan spice and used sour cream and it worked fine. We will certainly have this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This recipe was awful. I used sour cream instead of heavy cream and used bread crumbs instead of toasted bread so maybe that is what made it taste so bad. I took one bite of it and had to throw it all away. Maybe next time I would attempt the recipe instead of trading ingredients out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I made this at school the other day (I'm a culinary arts student) but I substituted american cheese foe the cheddar (we were out) and every really liked it! I would add a little more seasoning though... but that's just me. Really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is great! I doubled the recipe and used mozerella cheese. Serve with large pita chips and drop a tiny bit of tobasco on before eating - yummy-licious!!!!!!!!! Also - another time - I fixed as a side dish too - put under the broiler to make extra crispy on top - served with veggies and fried pork chops! I would eventually like to put this in the middle of a soup bowl (after getting very crispy under the broiler) and ladle some onion soup around........very versitile recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Had to use a lot more of the cream mixture. It was okay but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy1166

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I roasted the eggplant like others suggested, and this was DELICIOUS! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Eggplant is good but this was not the greatest texture with the cheese. It is easy to make but the leftovers go bad quickly so food can go to waste. I wouldn't really recommend this to people with kids because the textures just don't look or taste appretizing to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachielove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was good. I added oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States