Eggplant Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Nice little chips, although mine turned out more chewy than crispy, and it really appears to depend on the thickness and size of your slices. I sliced into rounds and used baby eggplant (a mix of white and purple) since that's what I had and what I prefer anyway. I also didn't spray with cooking spray or drizzle olive oil on them, so that probably changed the texture a bit too. I sprinkled with salt and soaked out the liquid, then rinsed, drained and put on paper towels to dry. Then I brushed with olive oil and dipped in the mix to coat. Then I baked as directed. Turned out very good, but hubs turned up his nose since he's an eggplant snob (as in, he won't try it at all!). More for me--this doesn't make a lot of eggplant chips anyway! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I altered this quite a bit and it turned out good, even when cold. Whether you eggplant chips are soft versus crisp is determined by your cutting skills! I used coconut oil, smearing both sides before placing on the cookie pan. I then sprinkled my spice mix and baked at 400 for ~12 min per side... Until golden. Watch or you'll have overdone chips! 2-4 T coconut oil 1/2 t salt 1/2 t pepper 1 t gran garlic 1 t parsley 1 t oregano Mix spices together and place in a shaker to get even distribution over eggplant. I only sprinkled one side, although I did turn them half way to ensure even baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
After reading the recipe its obvious that people have forgotten the basic of eggplant! Slice and lay the slices out on a rack or paper towel or towel, lightly salt the slices to draw the MOISTURE out (this is what makes it soggy) rinse off after an hour or two, and then pat dry, finish the recipe and the chips will be a whole lot crisper. Learned that when I made Moussaka the first time, and it works with tomatoes for tomato pie. This will make crisper zucchini chips as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I sliced the eggplant in half. I then thinly sliced into moon shapes. I dipped into egg, then into Italian breadcrumbs with Parmesan cheese. I baked on non stick foil and sprayed a bit of oil on top. Turned after 12 minutes, baked another 10, then crisped at 425 degrees for 6 minutes. They did turn into chips, but they don't have much flavor, and are dry. I salted with a sea-salt garlic mix, and they are still basically tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dlaw
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made this last night and it turned out great. I followed the additional advice of 'mjonestammy' (who's review is attached to this recipe). In addition I used a little hand slicer to get nice and even 1/8" slices. I used two cookie sheets, flipping slices and swapping racks 20 minutes into the 325 degree setting. Then an additional 20 minutes. Then about 8 minutes at 425. But I did get a little burning on some pieces. So my timing was probably a little too long. I also think it's important to do this in a gas oven. But I feel that in general for anything that is baked. I only have a gas oven, so I'm not sure how this would turn out in an electric oven. But I have a feeling it wouldn't be as good as gas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I tweaked this recipe just a bit. I preheated the over to 350. I sliced the eggplant so they'd be chips..big chips :-). I then dipped them in egg. I only used seasoned breadcrumbs and parm cheese. I dipped them in this mixture after dipping them in the egg. I oiled a pan and placed them on there, then I drizzled the eggplant with oil. I baked for 15-20 minutes and turned over and let cook the same amount of time. I then turned the oven to 425 and cooked for another 5 minutes or so. They were nice and crisp, even after cooling. They were also firm and not mushy. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I have had experience with eggplant. I opted not to drizzle the oil. I used olive oil PAM spray over it after placing on the cookie sheet. I also made sure the eggplant was as dry as could be, then dipped it in the bread crumb mixture to coat well. I turned them over after one side was browned. They came out crispy on the outer part. Not bad, the family liked them and thats what matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee
Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was not good at all. NOthing like what they make it seem to be. Wouldn't recommended to anyone and wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I followed this recipe and had a similar outcome as Holly000 - soggy/funky texture. I cooked them even longer hoping they would become crispy...to no avail. I was quite disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This recipe has quickly become a staple of my family's summer diet. We have made it three times in the past two weeks, and plan to make it frequently. We have tried both Japanese eggplant and globe eggplant, and prefer the Japanese. We have also substituted parmesan cheese for the Romano and olive oil instead of plain vegetable oil. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States