Eggplant Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I'll be making this again! I changed a few things, as others suggested. No meat, instead I used spaghetti squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
flavor was really good , my come out a little mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was a very tasty dish. I did make a few changes to add a bit more flavor and to make it Vegetarian friendly. I used canned diced tomatoes with Oregano and garlic. Instead of using ground beef I used a product called Morning Star Griller Crumbles. Do the veggies as directed, then add the crumbles and stir constantly (because they will stick) just until they are warmed. Then I added the eggplant and continued with the directions. My husband who is a firefighter took the leftovers to work and they didn't last long. They are asking for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliCat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I've made this twice now. Both times, without the beef. It's probably good with the beef, but I wanted to taste the eggplant more. I follow the rest of the recipe, except saute the veggies in butter (Smart Balance). My other two additions are mushrooms (to replace the meat and cuz I love them), and garlic powder, because I love garlic. The breadcrumb mixture is the coup de gras, as it compliments the flavors and adds a little texture. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I baked this last night, but with just a few changes. I loved it so much I ate it for breakfast as well! :) I used less ground beef, more eggplant, left out the green pepper, used canned tomatoes, and added mozzarella cheese inside the mixture & on the top. I added italian seasoning to the bread crumb topping, gave it an extra flavor, which was delish!! Good, good stuff. :) Will definitely be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Used a mixture of Italian and panko breadcrumbs. Needs extra salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Good basic dish. I added a tablespoon of fresh basil, teaspoon of fresh oregano, half teaspoon of dried thyme, would've added garlic if I had any. I also cooked the eggplant in with the beef and other veg. I only used 1 lb beef, but even with 1.5 lb I can't see this serving 8; we got 4 servings out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
i really enjoyed this dish; however, my husband and 4 year old son were not as sold on it, so i probably won't make it again. but you should; it was tasty. i took some tips from other reviewers and added a little fresh garlic, italian seasoning and garlic salt. also sauteed the eggplant with the other stuff and drained the pan twice - once after the meat was cooked and once after the tomatoes cooked. i was really wondering how the egg/milk was going to work out, but it did and the dish was not runny at all. i had three helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very good! I added Italian Seasoning to the meat mixture and a shredded Italian blend cheese to the bread crumbs. Everyone loved it, and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDRETH1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I concur with the salting, draining and roasting. Then throw in all the spices you want and clean out the veggie drawer while you're at it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States