Eggplant Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I'll be making this again! I changed a few things, as others suggested. No meat, instead I used spaghetti squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
flavor was really good , my come out a little mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was a very tasty dish. I did make a few changes to add a bit more flavor and to make it Vegetarian friendly. I used canned diced tomatoes with Oregano and garlic. Instead of using ground beef I used a product called Morning Star Griller Crumbles. Do the veggies as directed, then add the crumbles and stir constantly (because they will stick) just until they are warmed. Then I added the eggplant and continued with the directions. My husband who is a firefighter took the leftovers to work and they didn't last long. They are asking for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliCat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I've made this twice now. Both times, without the beef. It's probably good with the beef, but I wanted to taste the eggplant more. I follow the rest of the recipe, except saute the veggies in butter (Smart Balance). My other two additions are mushrooms (to replace the meat and cuz I love them), and garlic powder, because I love garlic. The breadcrumb mixture is the coup de gras, as it compliments the flavors and adds a little texture. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I baked this last night, but with just a few changes. I loved it so much I ate it for breakfast as well! :) I used less ground beef, more eggplant, left out the green pepper, used canned tomatoes, and added mozzarella cheese inside the mixture & on the top. I added italian seasoning to the bread crumb topping, gave it an extra flavor, which was delish!! Good, good stuff. :) Will definitely be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Used a mixture of Italian and panko breadcrumbs. Needs extra salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Good basic dish. I added a tablespoon of fresh basil, teaspoon of fresh oregano, half teaspoon of dried thyme, would've added garlic if I had any. I also cooked the eggplant in with the beef and other veg. I only used 1 lb beef, but even with 1.5 lb I can't see this serving 8; we got 4 servings out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
i really enjoyed this dish; however, my husband and 4 year old son were not as sold on it, so i probably won't make it again. but you should; it was tasty. i took some tips from other reviewers and added a little fresh garlic, italian seasoning and garlic salt. also sauteed the eggplant with the other stuff and drained the pan twice - once after the meat was cooked and once after the tomatoes cooked. i was really wondering how the egg/milk was going to work out, but it did and the dish was not runny at all. i had three helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very good! I added Italian Seasoning to the meat mixture and a shredded Italian blend cheese to the bread crumbs. Everyone loved it, and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renea Sturch Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I concur with the salting, draining and roasting. Then throw in all the spices you want and clean out the veggie drawer while you're at it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States