Eggplant Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I used a few tips from another reviewer and a few of my own tweaks, and you just can't go wrong by doing the following: After slicing your eggplant, definitely salt the slices and let them dry for about an hour. Rinse off, dip in egg and coat with italian season bread crumbs. Spray two rectangular cookie sheets with olive oil spray, and as another reviewer suggested, bake the eggplant for about 14 min on each side. While the eggplant slices bake, saute half a sliced red onion and a couple cloves of chopped garlic. When the eggplant is done, place in a dish, topped with the onions & garlic, then with 2 sliced roma tomatoes. Sprinkle basil and oregano over the tomatos (thanks again to another reviewer!), then top with shredded parmesan cheese and feta. Bake for 20 min. Absolutely delicious every time I've made it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Absolutely delicious! To eliminate any bitterness in the eggplant; don't forget to salt your eggplant slices and leave them to drain in a colandar for an hour, rinse and prepare as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I bread the eggplant, mist with olive oil spray, then bake it on a couple of cookie sheets, about 14 minutes on each side. MUCH less oil this way. Great with white or red onion. I sprinkle the tomatoes with dried basil, oregano and a little garlic salt. I skip the munster and just top with about a 1/4 cup of feta. Put it under the broiler for a few minutes at the end to bubble the feta. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WebsByMegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Geri G
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This is absolutely the best recipe I've ever made. I will never use another eggplant recipe, this is IT! It's so good. I didnt have Italian bread crumbs, used garlic crumbs and sprinkled a little Italian season on top. Ran short on egg mixture for dipping, also layering wasn't perfect, but didnt matter.I served it with Spinach Orzo salad, good combo. I will serve with Italian,or a Rustic bread next time! I am trying to post a picture for this recipe, hope it works. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is by far one of the best eggplant recipes out there!! I vary the mozzarella with parmesan, or an italian cheese blend, whatever I have on hand. When we have eggplant and tomatoes in the house I always make this dish!! Just an FYI, it doesn't freeze all that well, but was still good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This was very tasty even though I had to use different cheeses. Love it. Next time might try it with a marinara sauce on top. I did fry the onion and tomato before adding to the baking dish. Eggplant takes lots of oil to fry, so I alternated between oil and cooking spray. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Oh my gosh! This is the best thing I have eaten in ages. All 3 kids devoured it. Broke my heart their were no left overs. I did not have feta so I used some fresh mozzarella. My only bread crumbs on hand where panko-I think they may have worked better because they stayed really crunchy. It probably is just as good the way it is written though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This is fantastic. I have to say I was tempted to change it up a little like prior reviewers but wanted to try it as written first. I am so glad I did. It really doesn't need anything else, it's so yummy. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I switched parma with mozzerella and it came perfect the parma was to rich.fresh garden vegs made it 3 sundays in a row family loved it no left-overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I am rating this on how my dish came out, not necessarily the actual recipe, although it is a good one. I simply took the advise of some of the other reviews which suggested to do a few things differently. I salted the eggplant slices and let sit for at least an hour, then rinsed, before breading, which takes out any bitterness. I breaded the eggplant and baked it for 14 minutes on each side. Baking definitely left much less greasy!! While the eggplant baked, I sauteed 2 chopped cloves of garlic, onion and sliced mushrooms (which was a delicious addition). I also added a bit of balsamic vinegar to the sauteed mixture, which for my taste, was a nice subtle touch to the dish. I layered the eggplant, onion, garlic and mushroom mixture, and tomatoes, sprinkled oregano and basil, and topped off with feta and parmesan cheeses. My boyfriend who is not normally a veggie lover, and I, LOVED this dish and will definitely make it again. Thanks for the recipe and the helpful reviews that have perfected it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States