Eggplant Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I used this as a base recipe. I oven fried the eggplant with some sprayed on oil, and lightly fried up the onions with garlic. Then layered everything with a little salt, pepper and oregano. I didn't use all the parmesan as i thought it was too much, and it was still a bit too salty. But very delicious! My husband loved it, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This turned out to be the best eggplant dish we've ever tried. My husband who is an excellent and fussy cook himself loved it! Salted the slices and waited one hour. Then rinsed and dried on paper towels. We added additional seasoning (oregano, basil, pepper, sea salt, garlic powder). The slices fried up in a little olive oil very easily to a nice golden brown. Didn't have tomatoes so used "Alymer" tomato sauce (the kind in the pouch) which has lots of tomato chunks in it. Omitted the feta and instead used a blend of parmesan, cheddar and romano (whatever was in the house). Baked about 10 min longer than what recipe states. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
A wonderful recipe, I've never had much success in cooking with eggplant. This a tasty straightforward dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I had never had eggplant before but a friend gave me a couple from his garden to try. I found this recipe and "WOW", my husband and I loved it! As other reviewers suggested, I "sweat" the eggplant first and instead of frying, I baked it in the oven at 350 degree for about 20 minutes. I can't wait to make it again! Try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I really love the flavor of this dish. My boyfriend thought it was too cheesy the first time I made it, so the second time I eliminated the Parmesan, used about 3/4 cups of feta, and instead of using Muenster, I topped it with about 3/4 cups of shredded sharp cheddar that I already had in the fridge. That seemed to do the trick for him and I was still pleased with the results. Win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I quite enjoyed this dish. I used red onion rather than regular, and swapped the Muenster for Swiss, but it was all quite tasty. The only reason I can't give it five stars is my husband, the consummate carnivore, fussed that there was no meat in it. Maybe I'll spike it with sausage next time to make him happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zannah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
My entire family loves it when I make this, People who don't like eggplant or tomatoes enjoy this! I do make a few alterations: Bread and bake the eggplant instead of frying it; saute the onions with a few minced cloves of garlic then toss the onions in pesto; use tomato basil flavored feta; omit the muenster and top with mozz instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Valley, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is a good recipe as an introduction to eggplant. The only complaint was it came out soggy so I wouldn't suggest reheating or freezing. Neither my husband nor I are big fans, but the family's garden was busier then we thought it would be so now we have more eggplant then we know what to do with. Gave this a go. When the eggplant was smothered with the toppings it was really easy to ignore the eggplant's texture and the sweetness of the veggie nicely balanced out the acid of the tomato and the bitterness of the onion. Without the toppings it was just too "eggplanty" for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Used Andes seasoned bread crumbs and goat cheese instead of feta - Awesome! I've never been crazy about eggplant before but this is really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Delicious! Baked the breaded eggplant instead of frying and seasoned the tomatoes with italian seasoning and red pepper flakes. Used parmesan and chevre because those were the cheeses I had on hand. Honestly, for so few ingredients I can't believe how good this was. My roommate is still talking about it days later :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States