Eggplant Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I made the quick & dirty version of this, but was sure to salt the eggplant slices for about 45 min-1hr first. It turned out fine...even though there are ways to really take your time with this and make it uber tasty. -used crushed crackers instead of bread crumbs -used jar pasta sauce instead of tomatoes -used grated parm cheese and topped with slices of provolone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I have used this recipe three times now and it is amazing! Only downside is that we never have any leftovers. I used some of the advice of other reviewers: put the eggplant in a colander, sprinkle with salt and let the bitterness seap out for an hour or so. Also, I have been using Romano cheese rather than Parm and less cheese than recommended but it still tastes great. I also broil the top a bit at the end to make it a bit crispier. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
added olives. didn't have munster cheese. Jules and Jenn loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Great recipe. I served on top of penne with marinara sauce and my kids enjoyed very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McAllister

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This dish is awesome just the way it's written. And it takes even better reheated if you can manage to save some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cutler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
So yummy! Took the advice of others and spinkled eggplant slices with salt, let them sit for an hour or so and then rinsed. After frying eggplant I sauted red onions in same pan before layering. Used goat cheese and no tomatoes on "my side" and mozzarella and parmesan on hubby's side. Perfect and even good the next day! UPDATE: trying to eat healthier so made this dish tonight with roasted eggplant instead of fried! Wonderful! After rinsing eggplant I sprayed a pan with Olive Oil Pam and sprinkled eggplant with black pepper and prepared olive oil & pesto (ya know, the stuff you dip your bread in). Baked at 400 for about 30 minutes then follow rest of directions. Still LOVE it with goat cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commerce, Georgia, USA
Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I am always looking for creative eggplant recipes that don't include frying in a lot of oil. Even though fried eggplant is delicious, I just can't justify all those calories! I had feta cheese in the fridge and decided to try this recipe and I'm glad I did! I sweated the eggplant for about 20 minutes with salt before beginning the recipe, and I didn't have any muenster cheese so I used fresh mozzarella and I sprinkled fresh basil on top. Everything else was per the recipe. This is so good that I will be making it as my primary eggplant recipe. It really brings out the flavor of the eggplant without that heavy oily taste. The onions, tomatoes and cheese are perfect flavorful compliments. So glad I came upon this recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
A new family favourite....We added Prosciutto under the onion on some, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Simple and tastes great! I couldn't find Muenster Cheese so I had to use fresh Mozzarella..Still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Sisemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centerton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was wonderful! I followed some of the suggested revisions like adding mushrooms and garlic to the sauteed onions. This is something we will enjoy again and again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States