Eggplant Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This dish was perfect for my picky eaters! They gobbled it right up and had no idea there wasn't any meat in it. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
While making it I thought this would be a waste of time but i had all the ingredients for it and we needed dinner. In the end no time was wasted bc it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The taste was good but the bottom line is, it was "thin" and a little dry. I made some of the modifications suggested by others (baking instead of frying the breaded eggplant, sauteing the onions and garlic first, and adding basil and oregano). I didn't have muenster so I didn't use it, and really, in a dish that is clearly Mediterranean I would use something like mozzarella, not muenster. In a pan that size I only got a little more than one layer of eggplant, which is too thin. If I make this again, I will either use a 9x9 pan or double the eggplant, and I will use mozzarella with the parmesan and possibly leave out the feta altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Manus Kuepker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Big hit. I have used diced tomatoes instead of sliced tomatoes. Gives it more body. I will not make eggplant any other way. Great for Argue groups too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Wonderful! With the following mods: salt/drain eggplant as other user suggested (I like to weight mine with heavy pan in a colander to get good drainage), bake the breaded eggplant@350°F instead of frying, and layer in ~1lb cooked ground bison or other lean burger. I didn't have enough feta &Munster so subbed mozzarella for feta &Gruyere for Munster. Also added handful of sauteed sweet peppers & sun-dried tomatoes in cheese layers. So great even my kids ate it. A sure keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This is reaaly good. I did tweak it a bit, I baked my eggplant slices instead of frying. 7 min per side, while they baked I cooked the onion slices in oil and seasoned with a bit of garlic. after the eggplant was done I scooped the onions onto slices topped with tomatoe,parm,feta and used white chedder (thats what I had on hand) then spinkled each with Italian dreesing and cooked another 8 min. yummy will definetly make again next time I get eggplant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eagleville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I baked the breaded eggplant in the oven instead of frying it and we really appreciated the way this made the dish a lot lighter. I used two medium tomatoes to one small eggplant, but felt it could have used more tomato. Thanks for a delicious meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Really liked this recipe. I peeled the eggplant to get out some of the bitterness instead of soaking it (had to get dinner done quickly!) and it didn't have any bitter taste. Next time I will try baking the eggplant instead of frying, because I did have to use a lot more than the 1TB of olive oil called for frying the eggplant slices. I also forgot to salt the eggplant when it was done frying, but the cheese made up for it and I don't think it needed that extra salt in the end. This recipe was a hit in our house - my husband had 3 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoextean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Haymarket, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
My first time making eggplant and it was excellent!! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I totally love this recipe! I had a big package of leftover feta cheese and searched for something to do with it and this recipe came up. My family LOVE LOVE LOVES this meal. It's also very easy to make and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States